Berklee Today

Berklee Beat: Faculty notes

Assistant Professor of Harmony John Stein
Photo by Craig Bailey

Ear Training Department Chair Steve Prosser is producing a CD for Jazz Composition Professor Greg Hopkins that will feature Professor Mick Goodrick (guitar), Woodwind Department Chair Bill Pierce (saxophone), drummer Gary Chaffee, and Associate Professor Jim Stinnett (bass).

Ensemble Department Chair Ron Savage launched a Cambridge neighborhood music program called Abundant Life Musical Instruction.

The CD Kimotion by Kimo Williams '76 features Performance Division Dean Matt Marvuglio (flute), Assistant Dean Jim Odgren (saxophone), Associate Professor Kenwood Dennard and Vinnie Colaiuta '75 (drums). MP&E Associate Professor Terry Becker engineered the sessions.

Assistant Dean of the Performance Division Jim Odgren wrote the title track and played saxophone on the CD We All Need a Warm Breeze. The disc features Emil Haddad '49 (trumpet), Bob Simonelli '79 (bass), Eric Nebbia (drums), and Dick Odgren '75 (piano).

Associate Professor of Piano JoAnne Brackeen has recorded a disc of Latin music featuring Paquito D'Rivera.

Brass Department Professor Phil Wilson was re-elected to the board of advisors of the International Trombone Association. Wilson performed at the IAJE Convention in January in New York City and directed the Berklee Rainbow Band in concerts at the Eastern MENC Conference and the Tri-City Jazz Festival in Cleveland.

Associate Professor of Piano Marc W. Rossi and fellow pianist/composer Ben Schwendener released a CD titled Living Geometry. Additionally, Rossi had his solo cello piece "Blues Among Us," premiered by cellist Xin-Hua of the Shanghai String Quartet.

Associate Professor Nancy Zeltsman was the featured soloist at a marimba festival in Tuxtla Gutierrez (Chiapas), Mexico. She also gave the American premiere of Louis Andriessen's piece "Woodpecker" at the Percussive Arts Society International Convention in Dallas. Visit Zeltsman's website at <>.

Jazz Composition Professor C. Scott Free received an ASCAP Award.

Associate Professor of Voice Lisa Thorson did a residency at the Broward Center for the Arts in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. She also performed last fall at Sanders Theater with Voice Department Chair Jan Shapiro and Assistant Professor Adriana Balic and their group Boswellmania.

Assistant Professor of Composition Andrew List is the first American composer to receive an eight-month artist-in-residence grant sponsored by the City of Amsterdam, Holland. During his stay, several of his works will be performed.

Assistant Professor of MP&E Sean Carberry received a gold record for his engineering on Susan Tedeschi's Just Won't Burn CD. He also writes for Electronic Musician magazine. Visit his website at <>.

Film Scoring Associate Professor Sheldon Mirowitz recently composed music for the first two hours of the new eight-hour PBS miniseries Evolution, which will air in the fall of 2001.

MP&E Assistant Professor Tony Hoover was an acoustics consultant for the Federal Courthouse in Orlando, Florida. He also chaired a session of the Acoustical Society of America in Newport Beach, California, called "Integration of Synthesis Techniques and 'Acoustical' Music." At the same event, Brass Department Chair Tom Plsek presented a paper on signal processing in brass performance, and MP&E Assistant Professor Alex Case spoke on pop music production.

Guitar Associate Professor John Baboian's faculty group the Be-Bop Guitars released the CD Be-Bop Guitars . . . and More! Featured on the disc are Baboian, Garrison Fewell, Jack Pezanelli, John Wilkins, and John Marasco (all on guitars), Jerry Cecco (trumpet and flute), Victor Mendoza (vibes), Ron Mahdi (bass), and Jon Hazilla (drums).

Associate Professor Larry Finn completed the book Beyond the Backbeat, the instructional video Accelerate Your Drumming, and a new CD.

Associate Professor of Voice Gabrielle Goodman has taken a semester off to tour with the show "Forever Swing."

Associate Professor Oscar Stagnaro, bassist with the Paquito D'Rivera Quintet, toured internationally with the group to promote the film Calle 54 [54th Street] about the Latin music scene in New York City. In January, Stagnaro released The Latin Bass Book on Sher Music.

Associate Professor Tom Stein (bass) played at the House of Blues with Al Kooper and the Funky Faculty.

Piano Professor Neil Olmstead composed and performed on the score for the film First Light: Cape Cod and Magical Islands.

Mel Bay Publications released a book and companion CD titled Finger Gymnastics: Warm-up, Flexibility, Speed & Strength Studies by Guitar Professor Charles Chapman.

The CD Petrophonics by Birdsongs of the Mesozoic features Associate Professor Michael Bierylo (guitar) and Ken Field '80 (saxophone). Frederick Rubens '99 mixed the CD, with assistance from MP&E Chair Bill Scheniman on two tracks.

Compositions by Professor Jeff Friedman and Harmony Instructor Darrell Katz were featured at the 15th Anniversary Celebration of the Jazz Composers Alliance Orchestra in Boston.

Assistant Professor John Stein released his third CD titled Portraits and Landscapes for Germany's Jardis label. The disc features nine of Stein's jazz originals.

Assistant Professor Ben Sher (guitar) and his Brazilian jazz group TudoBem released a new CD featuring Kenny Barron. Sher has played at the Montreux, North Sea, and Marsala jazz festivals.

Assistant Professor Ed Blomquist co-authored an article for the 2000 edition of Entertainment Industry Contracts.

Professor Charles Cassara presented a clinic on developing a community band with Music Education Department Chair John Hagon at the MET2K Conference.

Assistant Professor Richard Ehrman presented a workshop at the Feldenkrais Guild of North America's annual conference in Washington, D.C.

Associate Professor Mitch Seidman (guitar), Assistant Professor Jeff Galindo (trumpet), and saxophonist Charlie Kohlhase released the CD Congeniality for Cadence Jazz Recordings.

Professor Dave Vose produced and played drums on a CD by 60s Invasion that will be used on the TV show "Dawson's Creek."

Percussion Manager Matthias Lupri (vibes) recorded his third CD. It features guitarist Kurt Rosenwinkel '90, saxophonist Mark Turner '90, bassist Reuben Rogers '98, and drummer Gregory Hutchinson.

Faculty participating in panels or clinics, and/or performing at the January IAJE Conference in New York included Music Business/Management Chair Don Gorder, String Department Chair Matt Glaser, Voice Department Assistant Chair Bob Stoloff, Assistant Professor Shannon LeClaire, Associate Professor Dave Samuels, and Executive Vice President Gary Burton.