Berklee to Present American Master Award to Arturo Sandoval

Berklee will recognize the Cuban-American legend’s legacy and impact on jazz and Latin music.

March 1, 2024

Berklee will present an American Master Award to acclaimed composer, jazz trumpeter, pianist, and timbalero Arturo Sandoval on Friday, March 8, following a performance with Pedrito Martinez at the Berklee Performance Center. 

A lifelong musician, Sandoval brings a talent and dedication to his craft that has made him one of the most celebrated and influential jazz trumpeters in modern times. He has received multiple Grammy Awards and an Emmy Award for his effortless ability to navigate various genres and styles through his performances and compositions. In 2023, Sandoval was honored with a Latin Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award by the Latin Recording Academy.

Sandoval is often referred to as one of the pioneers in the genre of Latin jazz. He fuses elements of Afro-Cuban rhythms, Latin melodies, and jazz harmonies into his music, creating a captivating and distinctive sound. He has collaborated with an array of prominent artists representing various genres, including Dizzy Gillespie, Michel Legrand, Tony Bennett, Josh Groban, Alicia Keys, the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the Pittsburgh Symphony, and National Symphony Orchestra, among many others. 

He has performed on the world’s biggest stages and at major cultural events, including the Academy Awards, the Grammy Awards, and the Billboard Music Awards. Sandoval has also devoted himself to education, teaching classes and workshops worldwide in the hope of nurturing the next generation of musicians.

About the American Master Award

The American Master Award is presented by Berklee to industry leaders whose openness, generosity, and deep commitment to music education have made a positive impact on the lives of young musicians, providing them opportunities to grow as artists and leaders. Berklee has previously presented American Master Awards to a selection of music industry leaders, including T Bone Burnett, Gillian Welch ’92, Dave Rawlings ’92, Tony Bongiovi, Rick DePofi ’81, and Dave Cobb.

Related Categories