Strings Faculty

Darol Anger

Associate Professor, Strings
danger@berklee.edu | 617 747-2328

"We have students coming from a classical music background who are interested in playing various vernacular styles—jazz and fiddle music, blues, pop—and then we also have fiddle players who learned by ear or through various traditional routes and who are interested in expanding their theoretical knowledge."

Jason Anick

Instructor, Strings
janick@berklee.edu | 617 747-6243

"When I teach students jazz I always encourage them to learn from other musicians in their ensembles, or give them suggestions for records to listen to and solos to transcribe, or encourage them to play with different instruments. That's how I learned."

Mike Block

Associate Professor, Strings
mblock@berklee.edu | 617 747-6355

Hailed by Yo-Yo Ma as the "ideal musician of the 21st century," Mike Block is a pioneering multi-style cellist, composer, and educator. While still studying at the Juilliard School, Block joined Yo-Yo Ma’s Silk Road Ensemble, and shortly thereafter also joined Mark O’Connor’s Appalachia Waltz Trio.

Sara Caswell

Associate Professor, Strings
scaswell@berklee.edu | 617 747-6530

"First, giving students a technical grounding that will assist in their musical journey. Next, exploring jazz improvisation as one would a spoken language: through immersion, imitation, absorption, and innovation. And last, giving students the skills to be lifelong learners, performers, collaborators, and teachers."

Wesley Corbett

Associate Professor, Strings
wcorbett@berklee.edu | 617 747-6136

"Improvising with harmony and single-note melody as opposed to improvising within the bluegrass vernacular are two very different things. I definitely view my job as trying to balance those out."

Eugene Friesen

Professor, Strings
efriesen@berklee.edu | 617 747-2155

"I am hoping that our students will be able to play in a variety of situations from an orchestra to a studio session to a solo with total spontaneity. There is a lot of ground for us to cover, but it is a great time to be doing it."

Maeve Gilchrist

Instructor, Strings
mgilchrist@berklee.edu | 617 747-6371

“I tell my students, ‘Don’t settle for anything less than the absolute best. And don’t be afraid of putting yourself over your head in musical situations. Making mistakes is your path to finding your own voice and your own way of navigating your instrument.’"

Natalie Haas

Associate Professor, Strings
nhaas@berklee.edu | 617 747-8839

"I would like my students to develop a good sense of groove and an ability to shape phrases, honoring whatever tradition they are a part of while making it their own, but most of all, to sound like the best version of themselves."

Patrice Jackson

Associate Professor, Strings

"I ask myself, ‘How can I relate to this audience? How can I play this part differently?’ If I do that, then the audience will respond."

 

Sandra Kott

Associate Professor, Strings
skott@berklee.edu | 617 747-2155

"Teaching constantly improves my own playing, because when you teach, you have to analyze what's going on with someone else and how they can improve."

Julianne Lee

Associate Professor, Strings
jlee49@berklee.edu | 617 747-6234

Felice Pomeranz

Professor, Strings
fpomeranz@berklee.edu | 617 747-2883

"I think Berklee is special because harp students who come here are able to play with many other instruments, far outside the classical realm."

Mimi Rabson

Associate Professor, Strings
mrabson@berklee.edu | 617 747-8323

"I love working at Berklee because we are surrounded by such an enormous variety of high-quality music and interesting ideas."

Simon Shaheen

Professor, Strings
sshaheen@berklee.edu | 617 747-6236

"What I'm bringing to Berklee is my experience as a Western classical musician, Arab traditional musician, and this eclectic fusion of music from around the world, which I grew up with."

Rob Thomas

Professor, Strings
rthomas@berklee.edu | 617 747-2903

"I hope that students come away from my classes with the inspiration to teach themselves after they've left school."

David Wallace

Chair, Strings
dwallace1@berklee.edu | 617 747-6925

"Part of my job is to make sure that students have not only the freedom to pursue their creative dreams, but also the structure for becoming technically and musically grounded."

Joe Walsh

Instructor, Strings
jwalsh1@berklee.edu | 617 747-6266

"Whatever sound is catching your ear and really moving you, that’s what you should be chasing."

Owen Young

Associate Professor, Strings
oyoung@berklee.edu | 617 747-6239