Piano Faculty

John Arcaro

Assistant Professor, Piano
jarcaro@berklee.edu | 617 747-8104

"I encourage my students to go with their own learning styles rather than adopting someone else's."

Leonardo Blanco

Assistant Professor, Piano
lblanco@berklee.edu | 617 747-3097

"Early on in my career, I discovered that the power and magic of music from geographically diverse areas gave me a new understanding of the world. It is my goal to share my enthusiasm for and understanding of world music elements with my students."

Joanne Brackeen

Professor, Piano
jbrackeen@berklee.edu | 617 747-8345

"When you play the music, you're playing the life you live. When you're living, just emphasize all the things you really want to be or enjoy being. Life expands every day. If you let it, music does the same thing."

Frank Carlberg

Assistant Professor, Piano
fcarlberg@berklee.edu | 617 747-8202

"It's about the fundamentals of rhythms, of harmonic conceptions, of improvisation, even things like repertoire. Fundamentals give you freedom to explore." 

Robert Christopherson

Associate Professor, Piano
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)

"From my own background as a performer, I've learned how to prepare for a concert, how to choose the right musicians, how to choose the order of songs, and how to deal with the nerves factor. I've also had a lot of experience with other, less obvious aspects of performance, such as promotion, warming up, and memorization. I draw on this experience in my teaching."

Jeff Covell

Professor, Piano
jcovell@berklee.edu | 617 747-8149

"I want the students to know what I think their priorities are in terms of their being successful—as musicians and as artists—and I hope to give them some idea of how to nurture their own creative spark."

Suzanne Davis

Associate Professor, Piano
sdavis@berklee.edu | 617 747-8258

"Just because my students are learning jazz harmony, jazz voicing, or jazz theory, it doesn't mean they have to play jazz. They can apply that knowledge to any style of music."

Jennifer Elowsky-Fox

Professor, Piano

"You want to sound good right now, even if it's just one measure, one note; go from there, and build on that."

Laszlo Gardony

Professor, Piano
lgardony@berklee.edu | 617 747-8187

"My happiest moments as a teacher come from seeing a student's eyes light up about an assignment, a recording, or either their own performance or mine."

Tony Germain

Assistant Chair, Piano
rgermain@berklee.edu | 617 747-8189

"Here at Berklee, I'm giving back to something that has given me everything. I often describe Berklee as a musical Fantasy Island. I just don't know where else I'd be happy."

Kevin Harris

Assistant Professor, Piano

"I realize that each student at Berklee also brings a very special history of their own, and I have the opportunity to mold, water, and inspire that talent so that their roots may also grow strong."

Steve Heck

Assistant Professor, Piano
gheck@berklee.edu | 617 747-8451

"Versatility is key to being a good musician, being able to do all kinds of things."

Russell Hoffmann

Associate Professor, Piano
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
rhoffmann@berklee.edu | 617 747-8432

"Playing the piano has got such a physical component to it. Understanding the gestures, the body motion, the language of each style—then incorporating an intellectual knowledge of the music along with the sound—it all works together. There’s no substitute for just getting in there, experiencing it, and playing, playing, playing."

Steven Hunt

Instructor, Piano
shunt@berklee.edu | 617 747-8482

"The moment I can get the students to think and express themselves on their own, that's when I feel successful as a teacher."

Matt Jenson

Assistant Professor, Piano
mjenson@berklee.edu | 617 747-2835

"I hope that I am able to plant a seed in my student’s minds, hearts, souls, and music that will bring clarity, truth, and healing to the planet and to humankind."

Hey Rim Jeon

Assistant Professor, Piano
hjeon@berklee.edu | 617 747-3037

"After you graduate from Berklee, that's not the end of your profession, that's the beginning of your profession. It's a journey; it's not a destination. "

Douglas Johnson

Associate Professor, Piano
djohnson1@berklee.edu | 617 747-8582

"If you tell a story with no pauses, there's not going to be any drama or suspense. Pauses give people a chance to hear what was said and anticipate what comes next."

Christian Li

Instructor, Piano
cli@berklee.edu | 617 747-6518

"I seek to develop an individual's unique voice on the instrument. I'm happy if students walk away with a clear picture of who they truly are as a musician and an understanding of what they need to work on in order to cash in on that potential energy."

Dave Limina

Assistant Professor, Piano
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
dlimina@berklee.edu | 617 747-8436

"One of the biggest lessons I give my students from my own real-life experience is that a gig usually isn't about highlighting yourself; it's more about functioning in an ensemble and playing your part."

Moira Lo Bianco

Instructor, Piano
mlobianco@berklee.edu | 617 747-6811

"My goal for students is to approach different styles as a tool that allows them to develop unique identities as musicians."

Nando Michelin

Associate Professor, Piano
nmichelin@berklee.edu | 617 747-2887

"If my students understand that the music comes first all the time, then they get to that point at which they always are trying to break down barriers and let the music take over."

Yoko Miwa

Assistant Professor, Piano
ymiwa@berklee.edu | 617 747-6251

"No matter what style of music you're into, the one thing that unifies all of us is our love for music. You are here because music is your life!"

John Mulroy

Assistant Professor, Piano
jmulroy@berklee.edu | 617 747-8311

"Developing as a pianist is a process, and I encourage students to practice every day so they'll have the ability to express themselves musically and emotionally."

Vadim Neselovskyi

Assistant Professor, Piano

"This is not a music school for children. If you came to Berklee you obviously already have something that you want to do, and I'm curious about it."

Neil Olmstead

Professor, Piano
nolmstead@berklee.edu | 617 747-8301

"The pleasure of working through the difficulties and arriving at an artistic end is one of the great rewards of music and life."

Pages