Non-Resident Student Drivers
Massachusetts state law requires that full-time college students who operate a motor vehicle that is registered in another state but remains in the Commonwealth for a period exceeding 30 days between September 1 of any year and August 31 of the following year must file an RMV Non-Resident Driver Statement with the Boston Police Department.
This statement, which must be signed under penalty of perjury, calls for the following information:
- Registration number and make of the motor vehicle, and state or county of registration
- Name, and local and out-of-state addresses of the owner
- Names and addresses of all insurers providing liability insurance covering the vehicle
- Legal residence of the non-resident student, and his/her residence while attending college
- Name and address of the college that he or she is attending
After receiving a completed Non-Resident Driver Statement application from a Berklee student, the Boston Police Department will send a copy of the completed form to Berklee Public Safety, and Berklee Public Safety will then issue that student a special Commonwealth of Massachusetts non-resident student driver decal, which the student should promptly affix to the upper-center portion of the front windshield of his or her vehicle.
Massachusetts General Law chapter 90, section 3 specifically requires that colleges share the following warning notice with all students who are not Massachusetts residents:
“It is unlawful for a non-resident student to fail to file a Non-Resident Driver Statement with the police department located in the same city or town as the school or college attended, in accordance with Section 3 of Chapter 90 of the Massachusetts General Laws. Failure to file such a statement is punishable by a fine not to exceed $200."