Liberal Arts Faculty

Jennifer Andrews

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
jandrews@berklee.edu | 617-747-2737

Arleen Arzigian

Associate Professor, Liberal Arts
aarzigian@berklee.edu | 617-747-6047

"A lot of the students have never been to the museum, and when we go, it’s an epiphany. So they really enjoy that part of it, and so do I."

William C. Banfield

Professor, Liberal Arts
wbanfield@berklee.edu | 617-747-8371

"You can't know where you're going unless you know where you are, and where you came from. When you put those three things together, you have the best formula for making a successful impact on your craft and on the world of music."

Jennifer Beauregard

Associate Professor, Liberal Arts

"Even though you're getting a music degree, having a college degree means that you've been exposed to a whole range of different things, not just an isolated, focused study."

Pratt Bennet

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
pbennet@berklee.edu | 617-747-8450

"My rule of thumb is very simple: whatever you're working on, make it valuable today."

Deborah Bennett

Associate Professor, Liberal Arts
dbennett@berklee.edu | 617-747-2734

"When I teach writing, I try to teach it as a craft and explain to students that it's an art, just like music. It may not be your chosen art, but we can learn about music by studying writing."

Sally Blazar

Professor, Liberal Arts
sblazar@berklee.edu | 617-747-8586

"What's most important to me in the classroom is creating a community where everyone feels safe to talk about their opinions, to explore questions, and to have answers that might be wrong."

Kevin Block-Schwenk

Associate Professor, Liberal Arts
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)

"A good thing about music business is that it gives somebody a wonderful fallback; while they're working on getting their footing in the music industry, they will get a decent job. That's important."

Alicia Bower

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
abower@berklee.edu | 617-747-6517

"I want students to be able to see how they can apply psychology in their daily lives, and I hope that when students leave the classroom they are able to share in some of the enthusiasm for psychology that I have."

James Bradford

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
jtbradford@berklee.edu | 617-747-6334

"The big thing I want for my students is to not be apathetic and to see that they are a part of history like everyone else."

Ross Bresler

Professor, Liberal Arts
rbresler@berklee.edu | 617-747-2799

"It's a demystifying experience when students talk about art in the classroom and then in the Museum of Fine Arts. We are incredibly fortunate to be so close to the museum, and we spend a lot of time there."

Marcela Castillo-Rama

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts

"My wish is for students to embrace 'the dark side' and realize that science rocks!"

Linda J. Chase

Professor, Liberal Arts
lchase@berklee.edu | 617-747-8372

"My philosophy is based on the process of listening to music you find compelling, and then seeking to find your own voice, rather than imitation. I believe a great musician listens to life and integrates it into their music, making connections that are true and sincere."

Janet Chwalibog

Associate Professor, Liberal Arts
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
jchwalibog@berklee.edu | 617-747-2041

"I try to give students the resources and the support they need and to create an environment in which they can succeed."

Ron Clark

Associate Professor, Liberal Arts
rclark@berklee.edu | 617-747-8123

"Students need to see that writing a good essay is really the same as writing a good cover letter."

Joseph Coroniti

Professor, Liberal Arts
jcoroniti@berklee.edu | 617-747-8148

"Writing about literature and drama helps students with their lyric writing and ability to promote themselves as music professionals. Thinking critically about other art forms teaches them to connect with others and to discover and express new ideas."

Jeanine Cowen

Vice President for Academic Affairs-Curriculum and Program Innovation,
Also affiliated with:: Liberal Arts
jcowen@berklee.edu | 617-747-8675

"I like to push my students to be self-motivated. For me, it isn't about the grades they will receive, but rather the knowledge and skill set they can build on."

Katherine Dacey

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
kdacey@berklee.edu | 617-747-6260

"When I teach a course, I draw on several disciplines so that students can appreciate the music we're studying as a product of a particular place, time, and technology."

Jennifer De Leon

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
jdeleon@berklee.edu | 617-747-6710

"One of my favorite teaching philosophies: education is not about filling boxes but about lighting fires. I try to bring this energy to each and every class."

Jan Donley

Associate Professor, Liberal Arts

"I find that this age group really identifies with their own coming of age, so I focus on that kind of literature and get them thinking about all the different ways we come of age—those pivotal moments in our lives when we move in new or unexpected directions."

Eunice Flanders

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
eflanders@berklee.edu | 617-747-6242

"We always need to write for some audience at some point that is beyond texting and Facebook. It is a practice. Can you be a good musician without practice?"

Ellen Francese

Associate Professor, Liberal Arts
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
efrancese@berklee.edu | 617-747-8157

"My role as teacher is to be a facilitator. I don't lecture; I don't like it, and I can't imagine my students would like it, either. My role is also to create a safe environment for my students to take risks, open up, share their ideas, and believe that what they have to say is worthy. To start a discussion I'll show them something as a catalyst, maybe lead them off with a word or two, then say, 'Here you go; wrestle with it,' and sit back and watch. And that's really how it should be."

Peter Gardner

Professor, Liberal Arts
pgardner@berklee.edu | 617-747-8186

"Actively participating in the world of ideas expands students' creativity and artistic intelligence and helps them become informed global citizens able to use their music as a vehicle for social change."

Karl Haas

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
khaas@berklee.edu | 617-747-6643

"Life is very, very complicated—the easy answers are rarely the right answers. What's important is that we keep asking the questions."

Caroline Harvey

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
charvey1@berklee.edu | 617-747-6006
  • M.A., Dance and Cultural Studies, UCLA
  • B.F.A., Theater Studies, Boston University
  • Vocalist
  • Performances with Alicia Keys, Mos Def, John Legend, Reggie Gibson, Joshua Bennett, and Donna De Lory
  • Recordings include HBO's Def Poetry season 5 and Ever Widening Circles
  • Published in the Legendary, Numinous Magazine, and the Charles River Review
  • Participant in Slam Team San Jose 2004 and Boston Cantab Slam Team 2005

Pages