Liberal Arts Faculty

Michael Heyman

Professor, Liberal Arts
mheyman@berklee.edu | 617 747-8510

"Behind the fun and craziness of literary nonsense is a rigorous sense of aesthetics and a bedrock of intelligent and constructive rebellion—a way of questioning the status quo and an outlet for individual, creative thought."

Andrew Jarboe

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
ajarboe@berklee.edu | 617 747-6442

"I rely on a combination of whole-class and small-group instruction. I create a space for guided and independent practice. I emphasize the close reading of primary and secondary texts as well as note-taking and analytical writing."

Meredith Jordan Rose

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
mjordan2@berklee.edu | 617 747-6451

"By the end of my course, I want students to feel confident expressing their ideas and offering constructive feedback on each other's work."

Sheila Katz

Professor, Liberal Arts
skatz@berklee.edu | 617 747-8434

"I'm always teaching history in a way that plugs in with questions people need to ask themselves as human beings."

Teodros Kiros

Associate Professor, Liberal Arts
tkiros@berklee.edu | 617 747-2877

"Philosophy provides a purpose, a meaning, and an appreciation for thinking that musicians need to be aware of."

Erica Knowles

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
eknowles@berklee.edu | 617 747-6858

"Music is a fantastic vehicle for teaching psychology in that it incorporates aspects of perception, memory, learning, emotion, social interaction, and our individual personalities."

Douglas Kohn

Professor, Liberal Arts
dkohn@berklee.edu | 617 747-8491

"I tell my students that language is an instrument; it's something you practice, develop, and refine."

Lori Landay

Professor, Liberal Arts
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
llanday@berklee.edu | 617 747-2747

"In Language of Film I give students a three-part project. Their first assignment is to write an original screenplay of a scene or short-short film, and write a paper about it. Next they storyboard their screenplay and write a paper about that. In the third assignment, we improvise a scene and shoot some footage, which they edit together on their laptops; then they write a paper about editing. Students learn about how people make choices, and film scoring students gain insight into the directors with whom they have to communicate. It's probably the most exciting thing I've done at Berklee."

Victoria Large

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
vlarge@berklee.edu | 617 747-6406

"There are some great intersections between music and literature, and the creative process that goes into that. There’s a kind of music to language."

Haidee Lorrey

Associate Professor, Liberal Arts
hlorrey@berklee.edu | 617 747-8306

"It's interesting to see how students who did not experience events like Vietnam or even the first Gulf War compare their prior conceptions to the perspectives we look at."

Alex Ludwig

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
aludwig@berklee.edu | 617 747-6485

"Fostering inspiration is the only guarantee that my students will continue learning throughout their career at Berklee and the rest of their lives."

Wayne Marshall

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
wmarshall@berklee.edu | 617 747-6826

"I am always generally seeking to model a form of critical listening and rigorous inquiry that students can bring to all manner of other studies and encounters with music."

Mike Mason

Assistant Chair, Liberal Arts
mmason1@berklee.edu | 617 747-2991

"Everything is interrelated and interconnected…everything from family life to music to school to career."

Rekha Menon

Professor, Liberal Arts
rmenon@berklee.edu | 617 747-2216

"My philosophy of teaching is to understand the student and try to unlock their innate critical abilities, their socio-centric skills, and encourage them on their intellectual journey."

Gary Miller

Associate Professor, Liberal Arts
gmiller@berklee.edu | 617 747-8175

"I would like my students to know that history is important, and that what happened in the past still has a very direct impact on the world we live in today."

Susanne Moebus-Bergeron

Associate Professor, Liberal Arts

"I would like my students to gain an appreciation for the visual arts and an understanding of how artists have responded and still are responding to the demands of their time."

Sumalee Passaretti

Associate Professor, Liberal Arts

"I think language is a tool for students to discover the world around themselves or even a world within themselves."

C. Pat Pattison

Professor, Liberal Arts
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
ppattison@berklee.edu | 617 747-8308

"Our curriculum takes what I call the Nautilus approach to songwriting. You isolate the muscle and work on it. Everything about the major, at least at the beginning, is about isolation. The first step is to separate the lyric component from the music component, which isn't to say that we talk about melody without talking about lyric, or lyric without melody, because often you can't separate them . . . Of course, we try not to lose the focus that this is about creativity. We try to emphasize as strongly as possible that all these technical tools we teach are simply in the service of the ideas and emotions that you're trying to convey."

Patricia Peknik

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
ppeknik@berklee.edu | 617 747-3101

"I had a student one semester who said to me, 'I feel so much better knowing that the things I struggle with now are questions that people have always struggled with.' History teaches us to know ourselves."

Rebecca Perricone

Associate Professor, Liberal Arts
rperricone@berklee.edu | 617 747-8844

"In my classes I emphasize that performing is an offering of the heart."

Simone Pilon

spilon@berklee.edu | 617 747-6329

"I try to have a very open classroom in the sense that I like the students to feel very comfortable to participate."

Beth Platow

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
bplatow@berklee.edu | 617 747-3113

"I was on the staff here for 11 years in the Counseling and Advising Center, and I was running a first-year advising program until I left that position to teach. I particularly love working with entering students. They're starting out on this journey that for so many has been a dream since they were children. I'm really fueled by their excitement and their energy. Thinking back to when I was a freshman, I'm really fortunate that I connected with an upper semester student, my roommate, and several faculty members the first few weeks. Coming into an urban setting where there are a lot of like-minded people, but also a lot of competition, and looking for connections, I think it's really a challenge, so I'm trying more than anything to provide connections in our class. I want them to connect to their creativity and their passion, and I want them to connect with each other, and certainly with me. You can come to me and it doesn't have to be about the first draft of your essay!"

Mark Polanzak

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts

"It's all about communication and connection, expression. So when they learn, 'I can communicate through writing,' they go back and transfer it to music."

Steven D. Rauch

Professor, Liberal Arts
srauch@berklee.edu | 617 747-6504

"My teaching style is interactive; the student(s) and I partner in the learning process."

Stephanie Reich

Professor, Liberal Arts
sreich1@berklee.edu | 617 747-6031

"If you've hit the wall on a music project and you feel tapped out, that's a perfect time to pick up your pen and write some prose, even a stream of consciousness, to free you up. When words start to flow, so does the music."

Pages