Percussion Faculty

Gustavo Agatiello

Instructor, Percussion
gagatiello@berklee.edu | 617-747-2838

"Playing an instrument is like having a conversation; when you don't have anything meaningful to say, you listen until you have something to enrich that conversation and make it worthwhile."

Terri Lyne Carrington

Professor, Percussion
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Global Jazz Institute

Grammy-winning drummer, composer, and bandleader Terri Lyne Carrington '83 '03H has toured with music luminaries such as Herbie Hancock, Wayne Shorter, and Al Jarreau, among others.

Eguie Castrillo

Associate Professor, Percussion
ecastrillo@berklee.edu | 617-747-8514

"If you want to really know the language of any instrument or any music, you have to go to the roots. I always say, I can teach you A-B-C-D-E-F-G until Z, but if I don't teach you how to put those letters together, to make words and make sense, you don't know what to do with them." 

Henrique De Almeida

Associate Professor, Percussion
hdealmeida@berklee.edu | 617-747-6238

"Berklee is the only music school in the world with this type of community. One that keeps inspiring you daily to be the best you can be."

Kenwood Dennard

Professor, Percussion
kdennard@berklee.edu | 617-747-8184

"A good percussionist starts with a good human being. Being a good percussionist technically is to execute the rudiments so you can support the rest of the musicians."

Ernesto Diaz

Assistant Professor, Percussion
ediaz@berklee.edu | 617-747-8297

"I really want my students to understand rhythm not as something written on a piece of paper or a board but as something they can really feel."

Dave DiCenso

Associate Professor, Percussion
ddicenso@berklee.edu | 617-747-8452

"To me, being 'centered' means addressing the instrument that actually plays the instrument: the body, the mind."

Marko Djordjevic

Assistant Professor, Percussion

Called a “world class drummer” and “a true innovator” by Modern Drummer magazine, Marko Djordjevic has played on more than 50 albums and has thousands of live performances to his credit. 

Larry Finn

Professor, Percussion
lfinn@berklee.edu | 617-747-8174

"Whether you're with a small group or a drum corps of 130 people, when everyone's doing something together and it clicks, it's an amazing feeling. There's nothing like it, nothing even close."

Richard Flanagan

Assistant Professor, Percussion
rflanagan@berklee.edu | 617-747-8408

"I work with my students to think musically, not just think about playing the exact notes or the exact time. Whatever you're laying down as the primary timekeeper, to make the time and the musical sense correct, it needs to have a musical purpose."

Ian Froman

Professor, Percussion
ifroman@berklee.edu | 617-747-8183

"I don't teach a standard drum lesson with books and exercises. I use a very conceptual approach: open up your ears, listen to yourself play every single note, and be responsible for those notes so you can make mental—versus physical or technical—changes to your playing."

Joe Galeota

Associate Professor, Percussion
jgaleota@berklee.edu | 617-747-8135

"Playing music is all about making a heartfelt connection. I couldn't tell you how many students just play—and good ones, too—but they have a hard time making a connection."

Robert Gullotti

Professor, Percussion
rgullotti1@berklee.edu | 617-747-8065

"I think that with the way the economy is, if you're a good player and you've got a good attitude on the bandstand and knowledge of what you're playing, it's as stable as any other industry."

Skip Hadden

Professor, Percussion
shadden@berklee.edu | 617-747-8201

"What drives people to percussion is that experiential thing. It's hitting things. Drummers tend to be people who want to do things, to build things, who like to use their hands."

Jon Hazilla

Professor, Percussion
jhazilla@berklee.edu | 617-747-8213

"Honesty and integrity are really important to me, and that relates to in-class critiquing. Being honest in a constructive way, I think, would be the greatest thing I would want my students to take away with them, because that transcends music. It's a life quality."

Yoron Israel

Assistant Chair, Percussion
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
yisrael@berklee.edu | 617-747-2703

"Drummers don't play an instrument where we're consistently called upon to play pyrotechnics and get paid for it. We have to blend with other musicians around us and make them feel good. So one of the things I emphasize in my teaching is sound and touch, which is very subtle and somewhat of a lost art in a lot of ways. But it's so important in the real world because you have to be able to play any given room, whether it's a tiny club or a festival amphitheatre."

Robert Kaufman

Professor, Percussion
rkaufman@berklee.edu | 617-747-8360

"If you think of practicing as food, you will realize the importance of feeding yourself a complete and nourishing diet. Your body and mind will assimilate this information, and you will be living with it in the years to come."

Jerry Leake

Associate Professor, Percussion
jleake@berklee.edu | 617-747-6134

"By focusing on the process of learning music (taking small steps), after years of work you will have traveled a great distance in your own journey."

Bertram Lehmann

Assistant Professor, Percussion
blehmann@berklee.edu | 617-747-8292

"Knowing the function of percussion in different stylistic contexts and traditions is very important, as is an awareness of the instruments and what they can do. And when you decide on doing something, you need to be able to do that with consistency in sound and expression."

Victor Mendoza

Professor, Percussion
Also affiliated with:: Valencia, Spain Campus
vmendoza@berklee.edu | 617-747-8282

Vibraphonist and composer Victor Mendoza, a Mexico native, is a leading international artist in the Latin jazz and world percussion spheres. Mendoza has performed with a long list of music greats, including Paquito D'Rivera, Danilo Pérez, Claudio Roditi, Antonio Sanchez and Lee Konitz.

Ricardo Monzon

Associate Professor, Percussion
rmonzon@berklee.edu | 617-747-8515

"I would say, respect the tradition and study it, but then build from there. Experiment and express yourself, make it your own."

Rod Morgenstein

Professor, Percussion
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)

"Most drummers are not involved in the creative songwriting process, and the bottom line is that, by and large, that is where the most significant amount of money is made. If you're one of those drummers who sits in the corner reading magazines and eating pizza while waiting for the rest of the band to get the song together so you can just add your oom-pah, oom-pah-pah to it, you can have a scenario where you'll still be home living with your parents and driving your 15-year-old car with 200,000 miles on it while the main songwriter in the band pulls up to rehearsal in a brand-new Porsche. . . . So I encourage my students to dig down deep and see if they have any kind of creative songwriting abilities. I want them to avoid what I had to live through. It took me a while to say, 'Oh, I get it. Time to come to the party.'"

James Murphy

Assistant Professor, Percussion
jwmurphy@berklee.edu | 617-747-6920

"Soloing on the drums can be as personal as telling someone your life story, so you want to get it right."

Alberto Netto

Associate Professor, Percussion
anetto@berklee.edu | 617-747-6009

"Listen to what the other instruments are doing. Learn your main role as the timekeeper. Make people dance! Music comes first, then you."

Ralph Peterson, Jr.

Professor, Percussion
rpeterson@berklee.edu | 617-747-8542

"Beyond the obvious areas of technique and reading, one of the most important things I teach is total musicianship."

Pages