Berklee Concert Jazz Orchestra, Directed by Greg Hopkins (Video Rewind)

This event has passed.
Please see the full events listing for upcoming events.
Thursday / August 20, 2020 / 4:00 p.m.
Virtual Event

In this video rewind from 2018, the Berklee Concert Jazz Orchestra (BCJO), directed by Greg Hopkins, plays world premieres of original jazz compositions for their biannual winter concert.

This year features four new compositions for the large jazz band:

  • “Unpaved” by Seulah Noh
  • “One for Allan” by Eyal Gurvich
  • “Walk in the Forest” by Jueun Seok
  • “The Belly Button” by Yoko Suzuki

Other features include “Recuerdos de un Reloj de Pared” by Juan Andrés Ospina B.M. ’07 and the Argentinian tango “Clariscuro” from 1997 by Pablo Ablanedo B.M. ’96.

To round out the evening, the BCJO will play “Contra.” Then, to celebrate the 100th birthday of Leonard Bernstein, the orchestra will play his piece for clarinet solo and jazz ensemble, “Prelude, Fugue, and Riffs,” featuring Juan Ruiz on solo clarinet.

Join us for exhilarating big-band brilliance at the start of a lively holiday season.


$10 in advance / $15 day of show