Faculty

e.g. "Tuba"

Ross Bresler

Professor, Liberal Arts
rbresler@berklee.edu | 617 747-2799

"It's a demystifying experience when students talk about art in the classroom and then in the Museum of Fine Arts. We are incredibly fortunate to be so close to the museum, and we spend a lot of time there."

Michael Brigida

mbrigida@berklee.edu | 617 747-8127

"The technology changes; the concepts do not change. The foundational concepts do not change, but it’s easy to bypass those concepts and get on to the great sounds."

Sarah Brindell

Associate Professor, Songwriting
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
sbrindell@berklee.edu | 617 747-2745

"I want my students to understand how important it is to throw themselves into the fire—to build the confidence to go up to other musicians and say, 'Hey, I'm good; you should play with me.'"

Sharon Broadley-Martin

Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)

"Writing and singing, singing and writing—these are things I've done since I was very young. Now I teach vocal writing in the Contemporary Writing and Production Department. Here is the perfect place to give my students, many of whom are primarily instrumentalists, the inside scoop on writing and arranging for vocalists and vocal ensembles."

Sharon Brown

Associate Professor, Voice
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
sbrown@berklee.edu | 617 747-8128

"I want students to be as free, as open, and as honest as possible so that I can see their true performance rather than something they're putting on. But finding your individual style is a natural part of growth. Our job is to wean students away from the radio in their head and foster their own talent. But I think it's a process, rather than simply saying, 'Don't try to sound so much like so-and-so.'"

Whit Browne

Professor, Bass
wbrowne@berklee.edu | 617 747-8129

"My approach is not the typical classroom textbook approach. I'm teaching from a practical point of view. I tell my students, 'This is what you can expect to happen on the gig, or on the recording session.'" 

Freddie Bryant

Associate Professor, Guitar
fbryant@berklee.edu | 617 747-6248

"I'm a 'jazz' guitarist based in blues and the African-American tradition but also a studied classical player. I play Brazilian and Latin music, Afro-Cuban, and music that bridges the gap to other world styles from an improvisational/nontraditional approach."

Dave Buda

Assistant Professor, Bass
dbuda@berklee.edu | 617 747-8348

"Your sound—how you sound when you hit that string—is everything. And as long as you have the fundamental elements, you have everything you need to sound great." 

Peter Bufano

Assistant Professor, Film Scoring
pbufano@berklee.edu | 617 747-6506

Eric Byers

Assistant Professor, Harmony
ebyers@berklee.edu | 617 747-2834

"I'm a strong believer in process; you learn by doing. I don't really think you can learn much about any art form without actually getting your hands dirty."