Faculty

e.g. "Tuba"

Kevin Block-Schwenk

Associate Professor, Liberal Arts
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)

"The trick is to present the material in a way that is unique to Berklee. There might be classes with similar names at other institutions, but they're going to be nothing at all like what students are going to get here, because pretty much every problem in math involves music in some way. We calculate the frequencies of notes under various tuning systems, looking at the math behind it. In economics and statistics, most of the articles we read are related to the music industry."

Ed Blomquist

Assistant Professor, Music Business/Management
eblomquist@berklee.edu | 617 747-8469

"I have a very philosophical orientation, trying to find big-picture meanings, and I also use very strategic kind of thinking."

Richard Boulanger

rboulanger@berklee.edu | 617 747-2485

"For me, music is a medium through which the inner spiritual essence of all things is revealed and shared."

Dan Bowden

Professor, Guitar
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
dbowden@berklee.edu | 617 747-8124

"What draws students to my private lesson studio are the instrumental labs that I develop, which deal with acoustic blues, slide guitar, and bottleneck guitar. An important goal of mine has been to expand on what would be the typical blues education—trying to round out the blues students we have playing modern electric blues style by imparting some historical perspective along with traditional blues skills that are still viable in today's music, when you look at Eric Clapton, Derek Trucks, Taj Mahal, or people like Keb' Mo'."

 

Alicia Bower

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
abower@berklee.edu | 617 747-6517

"I want students to be able to see how they can apply psychology in their daily lives, and I hope that when students leave the classroom they are able to share in some of the enthusiasm for psychology that I have."

Joanne Brackeen

Professor, Piano
jbrackeen@berklee.edu | 617 747-8345

"When you play the music, you're playing the life you live. When you're living, just emphasize all the things you really want to be or enjoy being. Life expands every day. If you let it, music does the same thing."

James Bradford

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
jtbradford@berklee.edu | 617 747-6334

"The big thing I want for my students is to not be apathetic and to see that they are a part of history like everyone else."

Fernando Brandao

Associate Professor, Ensemble
fbrandao@berklee.edu | 617 747-8379

"To make a beautiful sound, it doesn't need to be one kind of sound, but it does need to be expressive."

Kenn Brass

kbrass@berklee.edu | 617 747-2416

"We want to build solid musicians who are going to go out and make a living, and we want it by way of what we do: music."

Ross Bresler

Professor, Liberal Arts
rbresler@berklee.edu | 617 747-2799

"It's a demystifying experience when students talk about art in the classroom and then in the Museum of Fine Arts. We are incredibly fortunate to be so close to the museum, and we spend a lot of time there."