Faculty

John Blackwell

Associate Professor, Percussion
jblackwell@berklee.edu | 617 747-6140

"I tell my students, ‘When you play with a group, you don’t play chops; you’re the timekeeper of the band. If you don’t groove, if you don’t lock with the bass player, that group doesn’t function, and they’re going to call somebody else.’"

Joey Blake

Associate Professor, Voice
jlblake@berklee.edu | 617-747-3124

"I'm all about music and how it works with community—how community helps us, how we help each other. It's a very codependent thing to be an artist."

Leonardo Blanco

Assistant Professor, Piano
lblanco@berklee.edu | 617-747-3097

"Early on in my career, I discovered that the power and magic of music from geographically diverse areas gave me a new understanding of the world. It is my goal to share my enthusiasm for and understanding of world music elements with my students."

Sally Blazar

Professor, Liberal Arts
sblazar@berklee.edu | 617-747-8586

"What's most important to me in the classroom is creating a community where everyone feels safe to talk about their opinions, to explore questions, and to have answers that might be wrong."

Kevin Bleau

Associate Professor, Harmony
kbleau@berklee.edu | 617-747-8603

"Arrangers tell performers how to play by the marks they write on the page, so I tell my students to embrace that power. Be clear. Be specific. And insist that performers follow your instructions."

Chad Blinman

cblinman@berklee.edu | 617-747-2226

"Recording music is taking part in a kind of alchemy—you're transforming intangible, cerebral ideas into something real, something physical. It's a sort of magic."

Mike Block

Associate Professor, Strings
mblock@berklee.edu | 617-747-6355

Hailed by Yo-Yo Ma as the "ideal musician of the 21st century," Mike Block is a pioneering multi-style cellist, composer, and educator. While still studying at the Juilliard School, Block joined Yo-Yo Ma’s Silk Road Ensemble, and shortly thereafter also joined Mark O’Connor’s Appalachia Waltz Trio.

Kevin Block-Schwenk

Associate Professor, Liberal Arts
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)

"A good thing about music business is that it gives somebody a wonderful fallback; while they're working on getting their footing in the music industry, they will get a decent job. That's important."

Ed Blomquist

Assistant Professor, Music Business/Management
eblomquist@berklee.edu | 617-747-8469

"I have a very philosophical orientation, trying to find big-picture meanings, and I also use very strategic kind of thinking."

Richard Boulanger

rboulanger@berklee.edu | 617-747-2485

"For me, music is a medium through which the inner spiritual essence of all things is revealed and shared."