Faculty

Kevin Bleau

Associate Professor, Harmony
kbleau@berklee.edu | 617-747-8603

"Arrangers tell performers how to play by the marks they write on the page, so I tell my students to embrace that power. Be clear. Be specific. And insist that performers follow your instructions."

Chad Blinman

cblinman@berklee.edu | 617-747-2226

"Recording music is taking part in a kind of alchemy—you're transforming intangible, cerebral ideas into something real, something physical. It's a sort of magic."

Mike Block

Associate Professor, Strings
mblock@berklee.edu | 617-747-6355

Hailed by Yo-Yo Ma as the "ideal musician of the 21st century," Mike Block is a pioneering multi-style cellist, composer, and educator. While still studying at the Juilliard School, Block joined Yo-Yo Ma’s Silk Road Ensemble, and shortly thereafter also joined Mark O’Connor’s Appalachia Waltz Trio.

Kevin Block-Schwenk

Associate Professor, Liberal Arts
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)

"A good thing about music business is that it gives somebody a wonderful fallback; while they're working on getting their footing in the music industry, they will get a decent job. That's important."

Ed Blomquist

Assistant Professor, Music Business/Management
eblomquist@berklee.edu | 617-747-8469

"I have a very philosophical orientation, trying to find big-picture meanings, and I also use very strategic kind of thinking."

Richard Boulanger

rboulanger@berklee.edu | 617-747-2485

"For me, music is a medium through which the inner spiritual essence of all things is revealed and shared."

Dan Bowden

Professor, Guitar
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
dbowden@berklee.edu | 617-747-8124

"An important goal of mine has been to expand on what would be the typical blues education—trying to round out the blues students we have playing modern electric blues style by imparting some historical perspective."

Alicia Bower

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
abower@berklee.edu | 617-747-6517

"I want students to be able to see how they can apply psychology in their daily lives, and I hope that when students leave the classroom they are able to share in some of the enthusiasm for psychology that I have."

Joanne Brackeen

Professor, Piano
jbrackeen@berklee.edu | 617-747-8345

"When you play the music, you're playing the life you live. When you're living, just emphasize all the things you really want to be or enjoy being. Life expands every day. If you let it, music does the same thing."

James Bradford

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
jtbradford@berklee.edu | 617-747-6334

"The big thing I want for my students is to not be apathetic and to see that they are a part of history like everyone else."