Faculty

e.g. "Tuba"

Allen Bargfrede

Associate Professor, Music Business/Management
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
abargfrede@berklee.edu | 617 747-6014

"Having critical thinking skills and the skills to be creative, think outside the box, and analyze different situations is very important."

Janie Barnett

Associate Professor, Voice
jbarnett@berklee.edu | 617 747-8730

"I want my students not to be afraid to try new ways of working on their craft."

Erin Barra

Associate Professor, Songwriting
ebarra@berklee.edu | 617 747-6913

"My teaching style is engaging. I like to make things fun and get everyone involved in the learning experience."

Darren Barrett

Associate Professor, Ensemble
dbarrett@berklee.edu | 617 747-6075

""This position has helped me to realize my ideas pertaining to live performance—using computers, multi-processor effects, and groove-oriented music with improvisational content."

Kevin Barry

Assistant Professor, Ensemble
kbarry@berklee.edu | 617 747-8471

"I try to teach students how to be musical players. In the real world, technique, how fast they can play, how impressive their chops don't matter as much. The people who hire you for gigs want you to be musical."

Bruce Bartlett

Associate Professor, Guitar
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
bbartlett@berklee.edu | 617 747-8424

"The best thing about teaching or learning how to play music is the balance between technical information and whatever your heart and soul feels. Hopefully the technical information is only the vehicle for what you're really trying to do. I want my students to stay focused through the ups and downs, and to trust in what they believe in. I try to reinforce that they should learn as much as they can and be as versatile as possible, because the competition is very high. I also tell them to respect and learn from the past as they're trying to go forward."

Tom Baskett

Assistant Professor, Voice
tbaskett@berklee.edu | 617 747-6401

"It’s so important to appreciate your personal music. It will serve you well, no matter what you end up doing."

Jeff Baust

Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
jbaust@berklee.edu | 617 747-8585

"The technology and tools of music synthesis are changing at an incredible speed. Berklee has been really good at making sure that students have the latest tools in their hands, both in the studios and through the Berklee laptop program. No matter what the tool, however, faculty know and impart upon the students the commonalities of all of those tools. We don't teach just the button pushing for today's technology, but how to achieve effective music and sound design with any set of tools. We want students to sit down at the newest synthesis software tool, and say, 'I know what I'm looking for; the question is, where are they hiding it?'"

Jackie Beard

Professor, Woodwinds
jbeard@berklee.edu | 617 747-2678

"The improvisational approaches that I relay to my students are theoretically explainable, of course, but it's the practical and artistic applications that I really want to get across to them."

Matthew Beaudoin

mbeaudoin@berklee.edu | 617 747-6505

"I want students to come away from my class with practical skills that they can apply in their future work."