Faculty

e.g. "Tuba"

Gwendolyn Alston

galston@berklee.edu | 617 266-1400 x3996

"Through my studies and throughout my professional career, I have explored the different forms of human expression and how they help us connect—whether this is through literature, music, video, or art."

Jennifer Andrews

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
jandrews@berklee.edu | 617 747-2737
  • M.F.A., University of Pittsburgh
  • Published in local and national newspapers and magazines

Darol Anger

Associate Professor, Strings
danger@berklee.edu | 617 747-2328

"We have students coming from a classical music background who are interested in playing various vernacular styles—jazz and fiddle music, blues, pop—and then we also have fiddle players who learned by ear or through various traditional routes and who are interested in expanding their theoretical knowledge."

Jason Anick

Instructor, Strings
janick@berklee.edu | 617 747-6243

"When I teach students jazz I always encourage them to learn from other musicians in their ensembles, or give them suggestions for records to listen to and solos to transcribe, or encourage them to play with different instruments. That's how I learned."

Tom Appleman

Assistant Professor, Bass
tappleman@berklee.edu | 617 747-8498

"I'm supplying my students with a solid base for their music careers. My main goal is for them to be able to hear what else is going on in a musical situation."

John Arcaro

Assistant Professor, Piano
jarcaro@berklee.edu | 617 747-8104

"I encourage my students to go with their own learning styles rather than adopting someone else's."

Abigail Aronson

Professor, Guitar
azocher@berklee.edu | 617 747-8269

"I like to hook people in with what they came to music for. Then, when I get into theory and technique, it can mean more to them."

Utar Artun

Instructor, Ensemble

"I would like students to discover their gem. I teach them how to find it, but sometimes they may need to practice more because music is a lifelong journey."

Arleen Arzigian

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
aarzigian@berklee.edu | 617 747-6047

"A lot of the students have never been to the museum, and when we go, it’s an epiphany. So they really enjoy that part of it, and so do I."

Fabien Aubry

faubry@berklee.edu | 617 266-1400 x3493

"For me, having a good sense of psychology and pedagogy is essential to allow students to develop their potential and to grow up with time."