Faculty

e.g. "Tuba"

Tsunenori "Lee" Abe

labe@berklee.edu | 617 747-8068

"I think you can learn the most by analyzing what you like. Why do I like it? Let's try to imitate at first and then make it our own."

Michael P. Abraham

mabraham@berklee.edu | 617 747-8584

"Many of the technical tools and methods used today in the recording studio are quickly going to become obsolete, and it's important for the contemporary music production and engineering student to have an education that's going to allow them to not only change with the new technologies, but help invent them as well."

Kris Adams

Professor, Harmony
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
kadams@berklee.edu | 617 747-8447

"As a singer, I can share a different perspective with students. Singers and drummers usually do things by ear. Drummers are dealing with rhythm, and a lot of times they say, 'Why do I need to know this stuff? I'm just a drummer.' But if you talk to famous drummers who write and lead bands and compose, it's a lot more."

Cecil Adderley

cadderley@berklee.edu | 617 747-2426

"Teaching in the Music Education Department, you have to prepare people to do it all. Most state certificates for music educators are not area- and grade-specific like those for English or science."

Gustavo Agatiello

Instructor, Percussion
gagatiello@berklee.edu | 617 747-2838

"Playing an instrument is like having a conversation; when you don't have anything meaningful to say, you listen until you have something to enrich that conversation and make it worthwhile."

Enric Alberich

ealberich@berklee.edu | 617 266-1400 x3433

"It's not only about learning things, it's also about learning how to do things, and it's also about learning to be a human being."

Jon Aldrich

Associate Professor, Songwriting
jaldrich@berklee.edu | 617 747-8101

"A hit song is actually somewhat formulaic—the repetitiveness, the rousing section that leads us to that ever-so-hooky thing that we call a chorus—those things seem to happen over and over in hit songs, whether we like to admit it or not."

Prince Charles Alexander

Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)

Prince Charles Alexander is a sought-after recording and mixing engineer, whose clients include Mary J. Blige, Destiny's Child, Faith Evans, P. Diddy, the Notorious B.I.G., Usher, Babyface, Sting, Aretha Franklin, and others. 

Peter Alhadeff

Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
palhadeff@berklee.edu | 617 747-8102

"We are a cutting-edge department with a frontier kind of presence in the industry. All of the faculty are well informed on current developments. We bring that into the classroom and mix that with the content you need to know if you want to work in the business. You need to know about legal aspects, business start-ups, and have a very keen eye on where technology change is taking the business."

Elizabeth Allison

Associate Professor, Music Education
eallison@berklee.edu | 617 747-8899

"I think I work in the best department in the college, because not only do I get to make music, I also get to help the next generation of teachers help people make music."