Faculty

Bonnie Hayes

bhayes@berklee.edu | 617-747-6311

What I figured out is that every kind of music has something awesome about it. You just have to find it and embrace it.

Jimmy Kachulis

Professor, Songwriting
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
jkachulis@berklee.edu | 617-747-8240

An accomplished composer, arranger, and conductor, Kachulis has worked with legendary artists such as George Coleman, Jon Hendricks, John Lewis and Martha Reeves.

Scarlet Keys

Associate Professor, Songwriting
skeys@berklee.edu | 617-747-8455

"I create an environment in the classroom that is relaxed, fun, and creative because although craft is an intellectual pursuit, creativity needs to run rampant. It’s like a child learning to walk; it needs to have the freedom to try things out, to play and discover itself."

Jack Perricone

Professor, Songwriting
jperricone@berklee.edu | 617-747-2385

"My hope is that the graduating songwriting major leaves Berklee with a portfolio of songs that he or she can be proud to show to anyone in the music industry."

Ivan Sever

Associate Professor, Songwriting
isever@berklee.edu | 617-747-2393

"As long as musicians try to communicate well with those beyond the walls of their own room, there'll always be a need for music recording mentors. Even for the ones that remember the dinosaurs."

Mark Simos

Associate Professor, Songwriting
msimos@berklee.edu | 617-747-3129

"I feel that the best teaching and learning come out of the practice of reflecting on one's own work."

Stan Swiniarski

Assistant Professor, Songwriting

"I'm big into collaboration and cowriting. Nashville is a cowriter's town—you write with two, three people all the time—so I really want to have that same kind of environment in the classroom. You cowrite for many reasons. Number one, it's faster. Number two, if you're bankrupt in the idea department, you have another writer or two in the room who has got something to bring to the party. Another reason you do it is a business reason. If three of us create a hit song, we turn our song in to our respective song pluggers or publishers, and we have three times the coverage on Music Row. And the other reason is just because it's fun."