Faculty

Andreas Bjorck

Assistant Professor, Film Scoring
abjorck@berklee.edu | 617-747-8142

"You have to treat technology as an instrument that's no different from spending six hours a day in a practice room practicing your guitar. Whether it's a computer or a mixing board or a guitar, you have to make it kind of sing and play for you."

Peter Bufano

Assistant Professor, Film Scoring
pbufano@berklee.edu | 617-747-6506

"In my teaching, I place a value on each student having a unique experience."

Mason Daring

Professor, Film Scoring
mdaring@berklee.edu | 617-747-8846

"I see the same films over and over, but I'll tell you I do not hear the same music over and over. It's really fascinating to hear new takes on them."

Richard Davis

Professor, Film Scoring
rdavis@berklee.edu | 617-747-8211

"A big part of what I teach is storytelling through music. It's also understanding how the music fits in as a partner. It must have an intention, and a flow that communicates very specific feelings or ideas to the audience."

Dario Eskenazi

Assistant Professor, Film Scoring
deskenazi@berklee.edu | 617-747-6247

Ruth Mendelson

Assistant Professor, Film Scoring

"One of the greatest reasons for having talent is to be of service to others, so I want my students to trust their intuition and imagination to come up with ways to make a living within that."

Sheldon Mirowitz

Professor, Film Scoring
smirowitz@berklee.edu | 617-747-8141

"Remember that you will produce bad music as well as good music. In fact, you can't produce one without the other, because bad music is what you make on the way to making good music."

Alison Plante

aplante@berklee.edu | 617-747-2637

"Even with a film score, music has to be a personal expression to some extent, otherwise you're not creating something meaningful."

Claudio Ragazzi

Associate Professor, Film Scoring
cragazzi1@berklee.edu | 617-747-8067

"I believe in the complete musician. I think in order to make it in the real world today you have to have a specialty like film scoring, orchestration, or production, but you also need to know how to play your instrument, arrange, produce, and read."

Eric Reasoner

Professor, Film Scoring
ereasoner@berklee.edu | 617-747-8467

"It's pretty fascinating to see how a class of 12 students is given all the same information, they'll study the same techniques, even write music for the same scene, yet they'll come back with 12 very different pieces of music."