Faculty

Neil Leonard

Professor; Artistic Director of the Berklee Interdisciplinary Arts Institute, Electronic Production and Design
nleonard@berklee.edu | 617-747-8402

"I believe in intuition and inspiration, and in luck. But what do you do when you don't have those? You've still got to get the job done. I zero in on strategies for doing this in my classes."

Steve Maclean

Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
smaclean@berklee.edu | 617-747-8114

"Some people have stereotypes that electronic music is just about dance beats, but there's a ton of music you can make using these technologies. One ensemble I'm now teaching focuses on compositions using electronic instruments and processes. Advanced students are writing their own software and doing all sorts of things in all genres. Using the technology is the thread that holds the ensemble together, often with fascinating results!"

Chris Noyes

cnoyes@berklee.edu | 617-747-2298

"I'm constantly in learning mode. There is no, 'Now I know everything I need to know and I'm just going to work.'"

Rishabh Rajan

rrajan@berklee.edu | 617-747-6712

"There are always multiple ways to do something, but there is only one efficient way."

Thomas L. Rhea

trhea@berklee.edu | 617-747-2487

"To be really successful—to be a professional—requires a form of controlled fanaticism."

Jay Rinaldi

jrinaldi@berklee.edu | 617-747-2782

"Be inquisitive. Open your eyes, open your minds to things you don't necessarily know even exist."

Kai Turnbull

Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
kturnbull@berklee.edu | 617-747-8401

"Technology is a tool and, ultimately, when mastered it can become transparent. It takes time and discipline to learn, of course, but this is no different from other musical skill sets. On the piano, for example, one develops technical proficiency through the practice of specific exercises and repertoire with the aim to ultimately express oneself fluently and effortlessly. It's the same way with music technology. You have to spend the time required to get the fundamentals-the principles that work behind it-to really know it inside and out, in order to support those unexpected and creative leaps of imagination."

Jeffrey Williams

jdwilliams@berklee.edu | 617-747-8480

"I can sit here till I'm blue in the face, show you how I do it, tell you why I do it, and give you example after example of why this is cool, but it's up to you to spend the time to get your head around this concept. That's when it's going to become yours."