Faculty

Peyman Farzinpour

Assistant Professor, Composition

"I like my classes and individual lessons to be both rigorous and laid back. It's important for students to learn the material at a high level, yet have fun doing so and not feel overwhelmed. "

Ronny Feldman

Professor, Composition
rfeldman@berklee.edu | 617-747-8591

Scott Fessler

Professor, Composition
sfessler@berklee.edu | 617-747-8170

"There's a huge universe of possibilities generated from 12 pitches and a few other concepts. It's kind of mind boggling. I try to bring that enthusiasm with me when I walk in on the first day of classes every semester."

Arnold Friedman

Professor, Composition
afriedman@berklee.edu | 617-747-8185

"I want to open up more possibilities for my students, more doors for their creativity."

Greg Glancey

Assistant Chair, Composition
gglancey@berklee.edu | 617-747-6492

"When we learn how to recognize and comprehend structural elements in music, we can then begin to understand from the inside out how and why a piece of music works, and by extension how it might have been composed, how it might be performed, heard, or even taught."

Derek Hurst

Associate Professor, Composition
dhurst@berklee.edu | 617-747-8733

"The contemplation and appreciation of the behavior of voices and notes in a given context leads to understanding, and understanding leads to appreciation. Both (hopefully) lead to a love and appreciation of all great music, no matter what branch of music my students go into."

Isaiah Jackson

Professor, Composition
ijackson@berklee.edu | 617-747-8841

Alexandros Kalogeras

Professor, Composition
akalogeras@berklee.edu | 617-747-8160

"Music has a lot to do with economy: reusing, recycling, giving new faces to older materials. Music is built out of blocks; nothing goes to waste. Everything is coherently and logically organized and related to each other."

Geneviève Leclair

Assistant Professor, Composition
gleclair@berklee.edu | 617-747-2003

"An orchestral performance requires a community of people to communicate and contribute something of themselves in service of their community's inner life."