Faculty

e.g. "Tuba"

Mili Bermejo-Greenspan

Professor, Voice
mbermejo@berklee.edu | 617 747-2338

"My goal is to develop solo singers with the understanding and musicianship of an instrumentalist. We have the privilege of memory and ears, so what needs to be balanced most of the time is to think as a musician."

Kurt Biederwolf

"Just as influential musicians have defined their unique instrumental or vocal sound, we push our students to define and develop their own electronic signature and use this to gain recognition in the music field."

Michael Bierylo

Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
mbierylo@berklee.edu | 617 747-8275

"I developed an elective called Sound Design for Animation. . . . Mass Art students studying animation pair off with Berklee students and collaborate on developing sound design for their projects. It's interesting to watch Berklee students negotiate with Mass Art students, not just about what the music and sound is going to be—there's also timetables and scheduling meetings and the whole idea of the interpersonal relationship you have. How do you talk to a visual artist? How do you listen to what he's saying and parse that into specific musical ideas? That's the kind of stuff I could go into a classroom and do a lecture on, but you really don't learn it until you start doing it with people."

Lin Biviano

Associate Professor, Ensemble
lbiviano@berklee.edu | 617 747-8270

"I want students to leave class understanding exactly everything they played and feeling good about that."

Andreas Bjorck

Assistant Professor, Film Scoring
abjorck@berklee.edu | 617 747-8142

"You have to treat technology as an instrument that's no different from spending six hours a day in a practice room practicing your guitar. Whether it's a computer or a mixing board or a guitar, you have to make it kind of sing and play for you."

Joey Blake

Associate Professor, Voice
jlblake@berklee.edu | 617 747-3124

"I'm all about music and how it works with community—how community helps us, how we help each other. It's a very codependent thing to be an artist."

Leonardo Blanco

Assistant Professor, Piano
lblanco@berklee.edu | 617 747-3097

"Early on in my career, I discovered that the power and magic of music from geographically diverse areas gave me a new understanding of the world. It is my goal to share my enthusiasm for and understanding of world music elements with my students."

Sally Blazar

Professor, Liberal Arts
sblazar@berklee.edu | 617 747-8586

"What's most important to me in the classroom is creating a community where everyone feels safe to talk about their opinions, to explore questions, and to have answers that might be wrong."

Kevin Bleau

Associate Professor, Harmony
kbleau@berklee.edu | 617 747-8603

"Arrangers tell performers how to play by the marks they write on the page, so I tell my students to embrace that power. Be clear. Be specific. And insist that performers follow your instructions."

Chad Blinman

cblinman@berklee.edu | 617 747-2226

"Recording music is taking part in a kind of alchemy—you're transforming intangible, cerebral ideas into something real, something physical. It's a sort of magic."