Faculty

Fernando Brandao

Associate Professor, Ensemble
fbrandao@berklee.edu | 617-747-8379

"To make a beautiful sound, it doesn't need to be one kind of sound, but it does need to be expressive."

Kenn Brass

Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
kbrass@berklee.edu | 617-747-2416

"We want to build solid musicians who are going to go out and make a living, and we want it by way of what we do: music."

Ross Bresler

Professor, Liberal Arts
rbresler@berklee.edu | 617-747-2799

"It's a demystifying experience when students talk about art in the classroom and then in the Museum of Fine Arts. We are incredibly fortunate to be so close to the museum, and we spend a lot of time there."

Michael Brigida

mbrigida@berklee.edu | 617-747-8127

"The technology changes; the concepts do not change. The foundational concepts do not change, but it’s easy to bypass those concepts and get on to the great sounds."

Sarah Brindell

Associate Professor, Songwriting
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
sbrindell@berklee.edu | 617-747-2745

"I want my students to understand how important it is to throw themselves into the fire, to build the confidence to go up to other musicians and say, 'Hey, I'm good; you should play with me.'"

Sharon Broadley-Martin

Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)

"The range of possible commercial settings for using singers is vast: anything from slickly produced jingles to childrens' voices for cartoon theme songs to background harmonies and riffing in pop, R&B, and soul bands."

Sharon Brown

Professor, Voice
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
sbrown@berklee.edu | 617-747-8128

"I want students to be as free, as open, and as honest as possible so that I can see their true performance rather than something they're putting on."

Whit Browne

Professor, Bass
wbrowne@berklee.edu | 617-747-8129

"My approach is not the typical classroom textbook approach. I'm teaching from a practical point of view. I tell my students, 'This is what you can expect to happen on the gig, or on the recording session.'" 

Freddie Bryant

Associate Professor, Guitar
fbryant@berklee.edu | 617-747-6248

"I'm a 'jazz' guitarist based in blues and the African-American tradition but also a studied classical player. I play Brazilian and Latin music, Afro-Cuban, and music that bridges the gap to other world styles from an improvisational/nontraditional approach."

Dave Buda

Assistant Professor, Bass
dbuda@berklee.edu | 617-747-8348

"Your sound—how you sound when you hit that string—is everything. And as long as you have the fundamental elements, you have everything you need to sound great."