Voice Faculty

Christiane Karam

Associate Professor, Voice
ckaram@berklee.edu | 617-747-8375

"Sound is vibration, and the human voice in particular, when sung from a place of truth, has an incredibly intimate and healing ability to communicate emotion, tell a story, and transform lives."

Steven Kowalczyk Santoro

Associate Professor, Voice
skowalczyk@berklee.edu | 617-747-2944

"I like my students to be aware of everything they're doing, not just standing in front of a band and singing, but also knowing as much as they possibly can about how music is made."

Jerome Kyles

Assistant Professor, Voice
jkyles@berklee.edu | 617-747-8557

"Gifts are wonderful, but without the drive to get better, it will just be that—a great talent sitting on the shelf."

Gwendolyn Leathers

Assistant Professor, Voice
gleathers@berklee.edu | 617-747-8107

Stacey Lee

Assistant Professor, Voice
slee86@berklee.edu | 617-747-6514

"It gives me a sense of privilege to be on a musical journey together and see students getting better at what they do, ultimately falling in love with their own voices."

Donna McElroy

Professor, Voice
dmcelroy@berklee.edu | 617-747-8439

"I realized that I have a special gift I bring to teaching, which is experience."

Cassandre McKinley

Assistant Professor, Voice
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
cmckinley@berklee.edu | 617-747-6923

"Having someone speak to students honestly about those expectations, how to prepare musically (and emotionally), sets them up for a more empowered and rewarding introduction when the time comes."

Clare McLeod

Assistant Professor, Voice
cmcleod@berklee.edu | 617-747-6335

Great singers have a connection not only with their instrument, but with their material and their audience.

Laurie Monahan

Professor, Voice
lmonahan1@berklee.edu | 617-747-6336

"Learning to sing well challenges both one’s physical instrument and one’s soul, and the journey is a magnificent one."

Duane Moody

Associate Professor, Voice
dmoody@berklee.edu | 617-747-6016

"I tell my students, 'It's up to you to understand how to make your voice shine in whatever style you're after; it's up to you to understand your body.'"

Nichelle Mungo

Assistant Professor, Voice
njmungo@berklee.edu | 617-747-8957

"The students are aware of my philosophy for warm ups: the more relaxed and flexible your vocal mechanisms are inwardly, the better your voice will produce outwardly."

Paul Pampinella

Assistant Professor, Voice

"I see my job as being a tour guide to the student's own voice, rather than coaching them in any particular style of singing. It's often the case that students simply don't know how to fully operate this instrument that they carry with them."

Anne Peckham

Chair, Voice
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
apeckham@berklee.edu | 617-747-2513

"Whether it's music they have written or pop and R&B music, students will find a home in Berklee's Voice department in a way that they wouldn't find it at any other college of music."

Janice Pendarvis

Associate Professor, Voice
jpendarvis@berklee.edu | 617-747-6019

"I look forward to seeing my students, and I know that I'm really doing my job when they're excited to come to class and to prepare for it, and I see them progress."

Dale Pfeiffer

Assistant Professor, Voice
dpfeiffer@berklee.edu | 617-747-8318

"I love the interaction with students; I enjoy what they bring, and I learn so much from them."

Rene Pfister

Assistant Professor, Voice
rpfister@berklee.edu | 617-747-8025

"It's critical for me that students are engaged, aware of their own minds and bodies in relationship to their singing, aware of music."

Annette Philip

Artistic Manager of Berklee India Exchange, Voice
Also affiliated with: Berklee India Exchange, Ensemble
aphilip@berklee.edu | 617-747-6152

"I think in all music that's what we're trying to encourage our students to do, to surrender and be totally present in the moment."

Jeff Ramsey

Associate Professor, Voice
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
jramsey@berklee.edu | 617-747-8110

"Having sung background for many different recording artists, I know how important it is to have your vocal technique together. As a background vocalist, you are basically called upon to become a chameleon. What that means is that you are going to be asked to take your voice out of its natural habitat so to speak. You have to come up with different timbres in your voice to match the other background singers and, in many cases, the lead vocalist. Versatility is an important factor in background singing. It means warming up your voice constantly to maintain the flexibility of your vocal folds as you diversify your singing style of the moment."

Diane Richardson

Assistant Chair, Voice

"I think one of the most beautiful instruments is the voice. I love exploring its different textures and tone colors. I try to motivate my students to develop a solid technical foundation, find an emotional connection to the music, and fuse their interpretations with honesty and integrity."

Ned Rosenblatt

Associate Professor, Voice

“Performers are responsible to each other. Work ethic and teamwork are crucial to being a successful professional musician.”

Daniela Schachter

Assistant Professor, Voice
dschachter@berklee.edu | 617-747-6063

"Improvisation is a very important aspect of singing and playing, and I like to work on that with each student during private lessons."

David Scott

Associate Professor, Voice
dscott@berklee.edu | 617-747-2822

"I never want my students to forget that this is all in service of something that's supposed to be beautiful and supposed to be a pleasure."

Maggie Scott

Professor, Voice
mscott2@berklee.edu | 617-747-8347

"Whatever I have done professionally and learned professionally, I try to bring into the classroom."

Jan Shapiro

Professor, Voice
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
jshapiro@berklee.edu | 617-747-2103

"I teach private lessons, vocal labs, and ensembles. When I teach private lesson students, I teach classical technique and how it applies to contemporary vocal styles. As a teacher, I see myself as a guide to each individual student as they travel down the path of vocal development and their own individual progression. Whether a singer becomes a recognized household name as a recording artist, a full-time performer, a session singer, a backing vocalist, or a singer in a wedding band, I try to prepare all my vocal students for the changing music industry and vocal styles."

Rebecca Shrimpton

Assistant Professor, Voice
rshrimpton@berklee.edu | 617-747-6345

"I want to give students skills that they can continue to use for the rest of their lives, and ideas that they can continue to explore. I want to help them become independent."

Pages