Music Business Management Faculty

Peter Alhadeff

Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
palhadeff@berklee.edu | 617 747-8102

Peter Alhadeff is a distinguished Oxford economist and historian who has created a unique and successful career in the U.S. music business. 

Allen Bargfrede

Associate Professor, Music Business/Management
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
abargfrede@berklee.edu | 617 747-6014

"Having critical thinking skills and the skills to be creative, think outside the box, and analyze different situations is very important."

Ed Blomquist

Assistant Professor, Music Business/Management
eblomquist@berklee.edu | 617 747-8469

"I have a very philosophical orientation, trying to find big-picture meanings, and I also use very strategic kind of thinking."

Jeff Dorenfeld

Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
jdorenfeld@berklee.edu | 617 747-8105

"The music business is about relationships, at every level. Which means that if you're the manager of an artist, you are the first person that someone from the record label or an agency is going to meet. So their judgment is of you—even before your artists. You can have an effect on whether they're going to be interested in your artist."

Louis Fabrizio

Assistant Professor, Music Business/Management
lfabrizio@berklee.edu | 617 747-3098

"The beauty of Berklee students is that they are creative by nature. That's why they're here. So they take those creative skills that are inherent in their music abilities and translate those to the problems people are confronted with in the business world today."

Jay Fialkov

jfialkov@berklee.edu | 617 747-8172

"When students and young artists think about the music business, they must remember that, in the end, it’s really about protecting the music, treating artists and their art as precious."

Don Gorder

Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
dgorder@berklee.edu | 617 747-2517

"Berklee's core curriculum of harmony, ear training, etc., contributes to the music business/management major's lifelong enjoyment of music. No matter how far our students go in the business realm, being able to relate to music as musicians will add much to their lives. Personally, my musical experience has enhanced my understanding of the tension points in the art/commerce dichotomy, and how to soften the conflict."

George Howard

Associate Professor, Music Business/Management
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
ghoward@berklee.edu | 617 747-8540

"Having worked in the music industry as long as I have, I don't want to necessarily just bring war stories. You've got to back it up with some good science and theory. One of the challenges is with new media. The tools are new. So I try to balance those with some real time-tested marketing strategies. You begin to realize that it's all sort of been done before, but now we have an opportunity to recontextualize things. I do try to find a balance of things, but the music business is changing every second."

Ralph Jaccodine

Assistant Professor, Music Business/Management
rjaccodine@berklee.edu | 617 747-6431

"The most exciting thing about being a teacher­ is to set off sparks ... to discuss, debate, and dive into current topics and trends. I challenge my students like I challenge my business partners and clients."

Andrea Johnson

Associate Professor, Music Business/Management
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
arjohnson@berklee.edu | 617 747-3170

"I have an undergrad degree in vocal performance, and I actually started in music business because I wanted to make sure that I understood my own contracts. I think that helps me the most, because we have a lot of dual majors. I can be empathetic with them and tell them today's business is really about being an entrepreneur. I'm giving them a scope of the entire industry, so they can pick a good business manager. I think every student should take at least an intro to music business course. If you're an informed performer, think of how much further you can go."

Stephanie Kellar

Assistant Professor, Music Business/Management
skellar@berklee.edu | 617 747-6021

"My reward is seeing students scale multiple levels of abstract thinking and convert mental models into action plans."

John Kellogg

Assistant Chair, Music Business/Management
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
jkellogg@berklee.edu | 617 747-3179

"The reason why I think music business/management programs are growing all across the country is because I think that young people get it. They know that they can actually have some form of ownership in the growth, in the development of the new music industry. They understand music, but they don't want to get ripped off, and they don't have to deal with those music companies. They think, I can do something else on my own, and I need to know how to protect myself within that whole framework of the new music business."

Pam Kerensky

Associate Professor, Music Business/Management
pkerensky@berklee.edu | 617 747-8448

"A lot of companies are excited when they have a new intern or a new hire who knows about all these different things. It's a different generation. You need to have those skills now."

Maggie Lange

Assistant Professor, Music Business/Management
mlange@berklee.edu | 617 747-8214

Valerie Lovely

Assistant Professor, Music Business/Management
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
vlovely@berklee.edu | 617 747-8013

"I teach Legal Aspects and Advanced Contract Negotiation, and I just try to break it down into plain English so that students understand what I'm talking about. And I draw a lot of diagrams. When they get a contract and are skimming through it, I want them to know when they need to talk to an attorney. I don't want them to feel like, 'I took Legal Aspects; I don't need a lawyer.' I want them to have enough knowledge to know when something doesn't feel right, and I want them to be able to have a more informed conversation with their attorney."

Joseph Miglio

Associate Professor, Music Business/Management
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
jmiglio@berklee.edu | 617 747-3127

"I would love every student inside of Berklee to understand that your music is a part of your business portfolio. You need to learn something about business. You can't leave your careers in the hands of another individual. You've got to have an active and immediate role in understanding the face and future of what you're trying to do. And that's what business teaches you."

Ken Zolot

kzolot@berklee.edu | 617 747-6508

Ken Zolot is a Senior Lecturer at MIT, where he guides scientists and engineers who aspire to transform inventions into startups.