Liberal Arts Faculty

Peter Payack

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
ppayack@berklee.edu | 617 747-8444

"In my writing courses, I tell my students that the book we use is the book of their lives. I make them delve into themselves and write about personal experiences they felt changed them. I want my students to learn something about themselves that will help them make decisions in their lives. I want them to remember why they're at Berklee, and to remember that being creative is a gift to be thankful for and nurture. It's like a little fire that you have to take responsibility not to let go out."

Patricia Peknik

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
ppeknik@berklee.edu | 617-747-3101

"I had a student one semester who said to me, 'I feel so much better knowing that the things I struggle with now are questions that people have always struggled with.' History teaches us to know ourselves."

Rebecca Perricone

Associate Professor, Liberal Arts
rperricone@berklee.edu | 617-747-8844

"In my classes I emphasize that performing is an offering of the heart."

Simone Pilon

spilon@berklee.edu | 617-747-6329

"I try to have a very open classroom in the sense that I like the students to feel very comfortable to participate."

Beth Platow

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
bplatow@berklee.edu | 617-747-3113

"I like that my colleagues are teaching such different things, and I think it's a great opportunity for faculty and students to do cross-learning and to collaborate and work together."

Mark Polanzak

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts

"It's all about communication and connection, expression. So when they learn, 'I can communicate through writing,' they go back and transfer it to music."

Steven D. Rauch

Professor, Liberal Arts
srauch@berklee.edu | 617-747-6504

"My teaching style is interactive; the student(s) and I partner in the learning process."

Stephanie Reich

Professor, Liberal Arts
sreich1@berklee.edu | 617-747-6031

"If you've hit the wall on a music project and you feel tapped out, that's a perfect time to pick up your pen and write some prose, even a stream of consciousness, to free you up. When words start to flow, so does the music."

Eric Reuter

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
ereuter@berklee.edu | 617-747-8251

"Outside of Berklee, I'm a live engineer and acoustician, and I integrate these experiences into my classes. The reality is that there aren't enough jobs in recording studios. It's a really difficult world. So I try to introduce other possibilities. There are a lot of jobs in audio that aren't 'recording engineer' or 'producer.' And the things that you need to know, or that are useful to know, are very similar for a lot of these various careers—live sound or location recording, or even acoustics to some extent. These other jobs are viable and respectable. I think it's our responsibility to present those as options."

Julie Rold

Professor, Liberal Arts
jrold@berklee.edu | 617-747-8405

"I try to get students to see that great prose and poetry is fundamentally about creating great sound."

Emma Romeu

Associate Professor, Liberal Arts

"Students need Spanish in many senses. They need it to communicate with the public sometimes, because they have many kinds of audiences. They need Spanish to speak with producers who can hire them in other countries, to speak with other musicians." 

Julianne Russell

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
jrussell2@berklee.edu | 617-747-6982

"I try to relate the curriculum to the outside world and news as much as possible, so students not only learn English but also feel prepared to face the challenges ahead."

Anthony Scibilia

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
ascibilia@berklee.edu | 617-747-6049

"I'm assuming a certain level of dedication and competence and passion on the part of the students, and I'm appreciating that very deeply."

Cristina Serverius

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts

Matthew Smith

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
mlsmith@berklee.edu | 617-747-6135

"It’s possible to appreciate the scientific side of music without losing your appreciation of the fact that it is a form of expression, that it is an art form. That’s something I try to communicate to my students so they don’t see me as some sort of dry scientist who just wants to reduce everything to a bunch of tedious equations. Mathematics isn’t just numbers and formulae and equations, it’s taking things that you know and trying to use those to find out something that you would like to know but do not currently know. I don’t expect to produce a class of mathematicians, but I at least hope that my students appreciate the greater role of mathematics and the ideas underlying it, not just in music but in the wider world."

Anne Squire

Associate Professor, Liberal Arts
asquire@berklee.edu | 617-747-8507

"As a native of France, I consider discussing French culture as another important aspect of my teaching. And because of the international student body of Berklee, comparing our cultures always lead to very interesting exchanges."

Adam Szetela

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
aszetela@berklee.edu | 617-747-6706

"I want my students to leave my classroom as strong writers and communicators who have the power to critically examine society and the optimism to change it."

Elizabeth Teret

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts

"I hope that students will learn the value of quantitative analysis from my acoustics classes. They will gain a greater appreciation of the physical conditions that govern sound, and how to manipulate those conditions in order to enhance their performances and recordings."

Ben Thomas

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
bthomas1@berklee.edu | 617-747-8697
 

 

Charles Walker

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
cdwalker@berklee.edu | 617-747-6013

"If I've done my job, students should leave my classroom feeling respected, encouraged, and slightly more attentive to the ways they express themselves than when they walked in."

Victor Wallis

Professor, Liberal Arts
vwallis@berklee.edu | 617-747-8122

"I emphasize a kind of social awareness—a sense that students can do something about the world, that they're not helpless."

Wayne Wild

Associate Professor, Liberal Arts
wwild@berklee.edu | 617-747-8409

"The supreme moment of creativity is reaching that level in which you are both entirely engaged with what you're doing and yet aware that you're in it."

Michael M. Williams

Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
mmwilliams@berklee.edu | 617-747-2350

"It's not as if my intellectual academic publishing is separate from my teaching; it's very intertwined."

Pages