Harmony Faculty

George Russell Jr.

Chair, Harmony
grussell@berklee.edu | 617-747-2833

"Music is harmony and melody. It's like a vocabulary. Without a vocabulary, it's difficult to speak. You can do it, but it sounds like you don't know what you're saying. As a player myself, knowing harmonic theory gives me a lot of security."

Mike Scott

Professor, Harmony
mscott@berklee.edu | 617-747-2412

"The great joy for me, and for any teacher, really, is seeing students develop and succeed."

Helen Sherrah-Davies

Assistant Professor, Harmony

"I want students to come away with a passion for discovery and an understanding of their ability to contribute."

William Silvio

Associate Professor, Harmony
wsilvio@berklee.edu | 617-747-8206

"In the classroom, I strive to use real-world experiences so the students see that they're not just sitting here copying down notes and memorizing things for the exam. I want them to see that the things they're learning have real-world applications that will help their careers."

Daniel Ian Smith

Associate Professor, Harmony
dsmith@berklee.edu | 617-747-8274

"Life—like a unified piece of music—is about balance: the relationships between dissonance and consonance."

John Stein

Associate Professor, Harmony
jstein@berklee.edu | 617-747-8130

"The reason I like teaching is because I get to talk about and share what I know and still learn from the students."

Vessela Stoyanova

Assistant Professor, Harmony
vstoyanova@berklee.edu | 617-747-6343

"I look at theory as a tool to enrich creativity. It is a language to communicate with other musicians, using the most common terms. When I teach, I try to give students all the proper grammar and correct spelling. But they must use these tools to express themselves in their own way. If they don’t have anything interesting to say, the class is useless."

Omar Thomas

Assistant Professor, Harmony
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
othomas@berklee.edu | 617-747-2740

"I'm a huge advocate of talking about not how music sounds but how it feels, to instantly make that connection."

Mike Tucker

Assistant Professor, Harmony
mtucker1@berklee.edu | 617-747-6894

"I try to relate my teaching directly to my professional experience and connect any concept that I teach directly to musical examples."

Michael Wartofsky

Professor, Harmony
mwartofsky@berklee.edu | 617-747-8495

"I'd say one of the main functions of the Harmony Department is to ensure a certain level of musicianship among Berklee grads. And then, on a deeper level, it gives us the tools we need to be better writers, arrangers, and performers. I studied at Berklee for a year after already having an undergrad music degree. One year of Berklee, and especially Berklee harmony, changed the way I compose and changed the way I think about music. This system is unique to our school, and we're very fortunate to have it passed down to us. It seemed a lot more practical than the music theory I had studied previously.

Mark Zaleski

Assistant Professor, Harmony
mzaleski@berklee.edu | 617-747-6188

"The best thing that you can get out of music school is the ability to communicate with as many different types of musicans as possible."

Pages