Harmony Faculty

George Russell Jr.

Chair, Harmony
grussell@berklee.edu | 617-747-2833

"Music is harmony and melody. It's like a vocabulary. Without a vocabulary, it's difficult to speak. You can do it, but it sounds like you don't know what you're saying. As a player myself, knowing harmonic theory gives me a lot of security."

Mike Scott

Professor, Harmony
mscott@berklee.edu | 617-747-2412

"The great joy for me, and for any teacher, really, is seeing students develop and succeed."

Helen Sherrah-Davies

Assistant Professor, Harmony

"I want students to come away with a passion for discovery and an understanding of their ability to contribute."

William Silvio

Associate Professor, Harmony
wsilvio@berklee.edu | 617-747-8206

"In the classroom, I strive to use real-world experiences so the students see that they're not just sitting here copying down notes and memorizing things for the exam. I want them to see that the things they're learning have real-world applications that will help their careers."

Daniel Ian Smith

Associate Professor, Harmony
dsmith@berklee.edu | 617-747-8274

"Life—like a unified piece of music—is about balance: the relationships between dissonance and consonance."

John Stein

Professor, Harmony
jstein@berklee.edu | 617-747-8130

"The reason I like teaching is because I get to talk about and share what I know and still learn from the students."

Vessela Stoyanova

Assistant Professor, Harmony
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
vstoyanova@berklee.edu | 617-747-6343

"I try to approach the subject in a couple different ways, using different modes of learning. And I encourage my students to find an approach that works best for them."

Omar Thomas

Assistant Professor, Harmony
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
othomas@berklee.edu | 617-747-2740

"I'm a huge advocate of talking about not how music sounds but how it feels, to instantly make that connection."

Mike Tucker

Assistant Professor, Harmony
mtucker1@berklee.edu | 617-747-6894

"I try to relate my teaching directly to my professional experience and connect any concept that I teach directly to musical examples."

Michael Wartofsky

Professor, Harmony
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
mwartofsky@berklee.edu | 617-747-8495

"One year of Berklee, and especially Berklee harmony, changed the way I compose and changed the way I think about music."

Mark Zaleski

Assistant Professor, Harmony
mzaleski@berklee.edu | 617-747-6188

"The best thing that you can get out of music school is the ability to communicate with as many different types of musicans as possible."