Guitar Faculty

G. Andrew Maness

Assistant Professor, Guitar
amaness@berklee.edu | 617 747-8268

"What gives you the edge? Professionalism. A pleasant personality. Intelligence. Maximize it all. Being able to play is the icing on the cake, it's not the cake. The cake is all the other stuff."

John Marasco

Associate Professor, Guitar
jmarasco@berklee.edu | 617 747-2644

"I try to be flexible with my students. I try to let them know what I think is important, the nuts and bolts of being a musician, and work to help them reach their musical goals."

Shaun Michaud

Assistant Professor, Guitar
smichaud@berklee.edu | 617 747-8271

"I want my students to understand that you don't learn everything in two seconds. It's a process, and you have to be patient and persistent, and eventually you'll get there."

Jane Miller

Professor, Guitar
jmiller@berklee.edu | 617 747-8466

"I want my students to take away a sense of confidence after studying with me—trusting themselves as players."

Tim Miller

Professor, Guitar
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
tmiller@berklee.edu | 617 747-8332

"I've learned so much playing with musicians that I admire; just having the experience of playing with them opened my eyes. I think that's an important component of a lesson, so in private lessons we often play duets together. A lot of my students come in wanting to learn contemporary improvisational styles, but I try to enable them to find their own approach instead of trying to force my approach. I want to try to expose the player's own voice if at all possible."

Amanda Monaco

Assistant Professor, Guitar
amonaco@berklee.edu | 617 747-6245

"Music school is a real head trip, and if I can help them stay focused on their goals and keep them positive, inspired, and evolving—that's my goal."

Joe Musella

Assistant Professor, Guitar
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
jmusella@berklee.edu | 617 747-8325

"I specialize in contemporary guitar playing. I played in bands from the time I was in eighth grade, and learned a lot just through real-world experience. I was a performance major at Berklee, and when I graduated, I played relentlessly four or five nights a week. It was tough at times, but I was in my early twenties and totally loving life at that point. I never felt I was particularly naturally talented or gifted; I just kind of stuck with it and worked hard. So I think it's not necessarily about natural talent, it's about working hard and having your basics together. If you have a strong foundation, you can pretty much go anywhere from there."

David Newsam

Assistant Professor, Guitar
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
dnewsam@berklee.edu | 617 747-8295

"To walk out of school and have professional opportunities—that's what I want for my students. If I can recommend any of my students for performances I can't accept, then I've succeeded. The students who go above and beyond what is asked of them are the students I end up performing with or who have successful teaching businesses. They're the ones who possess that inspiration to go well beyond what I gave them. In a concert I just did, two of the four other performers were former students of mine, and both of them are successful performers and teachers."

Lauren Passarelli

Professor, Guitar

"Staying true to your own desires takes courage and stamina and all the love you can give yourself."

Rick Peckham

Professor, Guitar
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
rpeckham@berklee.edu | 617 747-2511

"To me the musician's responsibility is not only to get the sound out of your head and to the instrument, but actually into the mind of the listener—and there are a lot of things between your mind and the listener's. You need to know about sound production on your instrument, getting your sound recorded, and making that sound the best it can be."

Kimberley Perlak

Assistant Chair, Guitar
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
kperlak@berklee.edu | 617 747-6429

"At Berklee, students come inspired and they already have something to say musically. I see my job as helping them develop the tools to say that more effectively."

Jim Peterson

Associate Professor, Guitar
jpeterson@berklee.edu | 617 747-8426

"I stress accountability, focus, and discipline with my students; I tell them they have to decide what they want to achieve and set standards for themselves that I'm going to challenge them to meet."

Jack Pezanelli

Professor, Guitar
jpezanelli@berklee.edu | 617 747-8317

"My point of departure with a student is wherever that student is at that moment. As long as there's a good attitude and desire to learn, we can work with that."

Joe Rogers

Assistant Professor, Guitar
jrogers@berklee.edu | 617 747-8336

"To teach engineering and production at Berklee is satisfying, because these young people are just starting what will probably be extraordinarily exciting careers."

Randy Roos

Associate Professor, Guitar
rroos@berklee.edu | 617 747-8387

"A lot of students really need the basics in terms of the technical things, and we try to cover that as completely as possible, but always with the goal to making a recording that is moving to listen to in some way."

Colin Sapp

Assistant Professor, Guitar
csapp@berklee.edu | 617 747-8419

"I think it’s critical to use learned music concepts to inform one’s individuality."

Bruce Saunders

Professor, Guitar
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
bsaunders@berklee.edu | 617 747-8429

"In my classes and private lessons I always try to point out the importance of playing with other people, as opposed to (or in addition to) locking yourself away in the practice room. There are psychological aspects of playing music with other people that one can only develop through personal musical interaction. For this reason, I try to play with students as much as I can in all my classes and especially in private lessons. There is so much we can learn about ourselves and others by playing together."

Benjamin Sher

Associate Professor, Guitar
bsher@berklee.edu | 617 747-8597

"From the perspective of a veteran jazz musician, your ability to hear musical language and respond is your most important skill."

Curtis Shumate

Associate Professor, Guitar
cshumate@berklee.edu | 617 747-8352

"Learning how to get a good sound out of your guitar is not always as obvious as plug in and go. So we work a lot on the basics of how to project the sound on your instrument, and how aware you are of what you're projecting."

Robin Stone

Associate Professor, Guitar
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
rstone@berklee.edu | 617 747-8368

"I would like my students to really know the guitar theoretically and to understand how the fretboard works. I firmly believe that students should have a thorough understanding of harmony and how it works on the guitar. Because of the way the guitar is tuned, learning the fretboard can be confusing and frustrating. Most students learn by patterns and fingerings. While this method is a wonderful way to learn how to play the guitar, it leads to a situation later in one’s playing of not knowing what they are playing. I would like to be able to say that my students come away with a better understanding of how those patterns and fingerings translate into a real working knowledge on the guitar."

Joe Stump

Associate Professor, Guitar
jstump@berklee.edu | 617 747-8418

"One thing my students come away with is inspiration. This is their time, when they're supposed to be living, eating, and breathing guitar."

Ken Taft

Assistant Professor, Guitar
ktaft@berklee.edu | 617 747-8374

"I try to give students the feeling that it's okay to be wrong. What's really important is knowing when you're wrong."

Scott Tarulli

Assistant Professor, Guitar
starulli@berklee.edu | 617 747-8457

"I have students who are really focused and ambitious. It's exciting for me when a student comes in ready for more and practices a lot. Students are so unique and you have to approach how you teach them differently."

David Tronzo

Associate Professor, Guitar
dtronzo@berklee.edu | 617 747-2858

"I started playing gigs even before I felt I was ready. But that's the beauty of the music business—there's so much on-the-job development. The constant discomfort from taking on things before you're ready can be corrosive, though—you need to be able to manage it."

Guy Van Duser

Professor, Guitar
gvanduser@berklee.edu | 617 747-6052

"I'm kind of the oddball. I'm here because a lot of people are curious about this technique, fingerstyle. I show them how to take melodies on the guitar—solo line melodies—and play those melodies while playing the chords at the same time."

Pages