Ensemble Faculty

Alain Mallet

Associate Professor, Ensemble
amallet@berklee.edu | 617-747-2942

"Our own curiosity gives us the power to discover things for ourselves—to address musical issues as problems to solve instead of always approaching them as something to learn."

Lello Molinari

Professor, Ensemble
lmolinari@berklee.edu | 617-747-8239

"Music is a journey without an arrival point, so we have to enjoy the trip."

Dennis Montgomery

Professor, Ensemble

"In a biblical context, the word gospel means 'good news.' Whether people come to listen or to join in and sing, people naturally want to spread good news. "

Nancy Morris

Professor, Ensemble
nmorris@berklee.edu | 617-747-8427

"I love seeing students accomplishing things that they didn't even think were possible, seeing them grow as part of a group, and especially seeing them become a leader within the group. That's really important to me."

Bruce Nifong

Professor, Ensemble
bnifong@berklee.edu | 617-747-2491

"Every student has this gift within them, but they may have difficulty expressing their gift. So, starting with the idea that students need help finding that mode of expression, we help them connect with teachers who really have a passion for helping the students find their inner voice."

Jason Palmer

Assistant Professor, Ensemble
jrpalmer@berklee.edu | 617-747-6164

"A lot of students just don't know about the competitions and commissions that are available to them. It's all career-building, and I feel like it's one of my duties to let them know."

John Paul

Instructor, Ensemble
jpaul1@berklee.edu | 617 747-6377

"Keeping my students interested, informed, and inspired is key. In turn, I expect students to contribute stylistically, to be organized, enthusiastic, and responsible. It is my hope that their experience with me helps to provide them with the necessary tools for a rich and spirited musical life after college. One of my favorite quotes is, 'You can’t create a career for someone without talent and you can’t stop a career for someone who has it.'"


Marcello Pellitteri

Professor, Ensemble

"What I find exciting about teaching is the challenge of having people in class with different individual cultures, personalities, backgrounds, needs, and aspirations speak the same language in an ensemble."

Annette Philip

Artistic Manager, Berklee India Exchange
Also affiliated with: Ensemble, Voice
aphilip@berklee.edu | 617-747-6152

"I think in all music that's what we're trying to encourage our students to do, to surrender and be totally present in the moment."

John Pierce

Professor, Ensemble
jpierce@berklee.edu | 617-747-8319

"Success in an ear training class will make them far more successful as harmony students, as arranging students, and as performers."

Nedelka Prescod

Assistant Professor, Ensemble
nprescod@berklee.edu | 617-747-6380

"Ultimately everything we need in terms of our music is about soul and about spirit. Use that, I tell my students, and make the music with that."

Bruno Råberg

Professor, Ensemble
braberg@berklee.edu | 617-747-8430

"Over the years, I've learned that no two students are the same and that teaching style is really determined by students' learning styles."

Dave Samuels

Associate Professor, Ensemble
dsamuels@berklee.edu | 617 747-8283

"My priority as a teacher is to help students unlock their own goals and aspirations."

David Santoro

Professor, Ensemble
dsantoro@berklee.edu | 617-747-8440

Ron Savage

Chair, Ensemble
rsavage@berklee.edu | 617-747-8416

"I like the challenges and rewards of successfully helping young people make music happen."

Gilson Schachnik

Associate Professor, Ear Training
Also affiliated with: Ensemble
gschachnik@berklee.edu | 617-747-8406

"How do we make ear training relevant, instead of being some academic or abstract course that students have to take, but don't understand why?"

Robert Schlink

Associate Professor, Ensemble
rschlink@berklee.edu | 617-747-8343

"I tell my students that the best thing to say when somebody asks you if you play this kind of music is yes, because then you can get the gig."

Sean K. Skeete

Assistant Chair, Ensemble
sskeete@berklee.edu | 617-747-2994

"I want some feeling, some attitude, some life experience in their playing. That's what makes music music."

Skip Smith

Associate Professor, Ensemble
ssmith@berklee.edu | 617-747-8535

"The attitude I have is that I don't know everything, especially teaching contemporary music. In a sense, I'm learning from the students, too, because they bring in tunes by groups that I've never heard of."

Lenny Stallworth

Associate Professor, Ensemble
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)

"You may think that something is unique, but if you don't know what's out there, you might just be in your own world."

Ed Tomassi

Professor, Ensemble
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
etomassi@berklee.edu | 617-747-8383

"I teach a lot of things by ear—improvisation concepts, balancing solos, different harmonic and melodic concepts. There is a key to teaching improvisation."

Marty Walsh

Assistant Professor, Ensemble
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
mwalsh1@berklee.edu | 617-747-8688

"There is nothing like experience as a learning tool."

Larry Watson

Professor, Ensemble
lwatson@berklee.edu | 617-747-8478

"A good ensemble player is one who embraces the African philosophical perspective that says, 'I am because we are.' It is not about you. It is about how you connect to the community, and together you produce art that is collaborative, loving, and socially just"

Dave Weigert

Professor, Ensemble
dweigert@berklee.edu | 617-747-2347

"Attitude can have a huge impact on the speed at which we learn. A dangerous attitude is when a student labels and oversimplifies a musical concept and dismisses it too easily because the term might not sound impressive."

Diane Wernick

Associate Professor, Ensemble
dwernick@berklee.edu | 617-747-2995

"Playing an instrument is a social experience, so playing in an ensemble setting really allows you to express yourself within a community of musicians."