Berklee Online Faculty

Kris Adams

Professor, Harmony
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses), Ensemble, Voice
kadams@berklee.edu | 617-747-8447

Vocalist Kris Adams is the author of Sing Your Way Through Theory: A Music Theory Workbook For The Contemporary Singer. She has shared the stage with many accomplished musicians, including Joe Lovano, Billy Drummond, Harvie S, and Michelle Hendricks.

Prince Charles Alexander

Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)

Prince Charles Alexander is a sought-after recording and mixing engineer, whose clients include Mary J. Blige, Destiny's Child, Faith Evans, P. Diddy, the Notorious B.I.G., Usher, Babyface, Sting, Aretha Franklin, and others. 

Peter Alhadeff

Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
palhadeff@berklee.edu | 617-747-8102

Peter Alhadeff is a distinguished Oxford economist and historian who has created a unique and successful career in the U.S. music business. 

Larry Baione

Chair, Guitar
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
lbaione@berklee.edu | 617-747-2294

"I learn from the students, just as the students learn from me. I enjoy their individual talents, and I also enjoy the passion that the students have to learn the instrument and perform."

Allen Bargfrede

Associate Professor, Music Business/Management
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
abargfrede@berklee.edu | 617 747-6014

"Having critical thinking skills and the skills to be creative, think outside the box, and analyze different situations is very important."

Bruce Bartlett

Associate Professor, Guitar
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
bbartlett@berklee.edu | 617-747-8424

"My ultimate direction is pretty simple: make my students musically strong so that they have more choices on the back end."

Jeff Baust

Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
jbaust@berklee.edu | 617-747-8585

"We don't teach just the button pushing for today's technology but how to achieve effective music and sound design with any set of tools."

Kevin Belz

Assistant Professor, Guitar
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
kbelz@berklee.edu | 617-747-2738

"In my class, there's a lot of playing. I feel it's important just to play rather than writing scales on the board. The emphasis is on improvising, playing, and listening."

Mitch Benoff

Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
mbenoff@berklee.edu | 617-747-2397

"My goal is for the students to be comfortable with their strengths and weaknesses, and to feel free to be open, honest, and collaborative."

Michael Bierylo

Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
mbierylo@berklee.edu | 617-747-8275

"I encourage creativity but [also] a firm understanding of technical and musical basics, a firm grounding."

Kevin Block-Schwenk

Associate Professor, Liberal Arts
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)

"A good thing about music business is that it gives somebody a wonderful fallback; while they're working on getting their footing in the music industry, they will get a decent job. That's important."

Dan Bowden

Professor, Guitar
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
dbowden@berklee.edu | 617-747-8124

"An important goal of mine has been to expand on what would be the typical blues education—trying to round out the blues students we have playing modern electric blues style by imparting some historical perspective."

Kenn Brass

Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
kbrass@berklee.edu | 617-747-2416

"We want to build solid musicians who are going to go out and make a living, and we want it by way of what we do: music."

Sarah Brindell

Associate Professor, Songwriting
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
sbrindell@berklee.edu | 617-747-2745

"I want my students to understand how important it is to throw themselves into the fire, to build the confidence to go up to other musicians and say, 'Hey, I'm good; you should play with me.'"

Sharon Broadley-Martin

Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)

"The range of possible commercial settings for using singers is vast: anything from slickly produced jingles to childrens' voices for cartoon theme songs to background harmonies and riffing in pop, R&B, and soul bands."

Sharon Brown

Professor, Voice
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
sbrown@berklee.edu | 617-747-8128

"I want students to be as free, as open, and as honest as possible so that I can see their true performance rather than something they're putting on."

Allan Chase

aschase@berklee.edu | 617-747-2853

"Ear training is a tool that allows you to express what you hear, what you want to play, and what you want to sound like."

Robert Christopherson

Professor, Piano
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)

"Whatever the style of music being played, a musician must have a good feel, a strong inner sense of time. This is not something we are born with. We have to develop it."

Janet Chwalibog

Associate Professor, Liberal Arts
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
jchwalibog@berklee.edu | 617-747-2041

"I try to give students the resources and the support they need and to create an environment in which they can succeed."

David Clark

Professor, Bass
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
dclark@berklee.edu | 617-747-8144

"One of the roles of a teacher is to help students gain a panoramic awareness of music and what to work on."

Suzanne Dean

Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
sdean@berklee.edu | 617-747-8431

"When you are in the process of creating music, it's exciting to feel the adrenaline and passion that come from within. But when it's all done and out there, if you manage to reach into the hearts and souls of other people from all over the world, this is one of the ultimate rewards."

Beth Denisch

Professor, Composition
Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
bdenisch@berklee.edu | 617-747-2809

"Improvisation is a very big part of teaching. When I see that light bulb go off in a student's head, it makes my day."

David Doms

Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
ddoms@berklee.edu | 617-747-8516

"It's a nice spot to be in, to be able to draw back on some of the things in the analog world, some of the physical tools we've had post–world war to now, but also to have this whole digital tool set. It's pretty incredible."

Jeff Dorenfeld

Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
jdorenfeld@berklee.edu | 617-747-8105

"I've had students who've gone straight from my course to tours or to management companies, so I know they're prepared to do that. But they still have to take what they learn in the course and apply it—they still have to get on-the-job training out there."

Andy Edelstein

Also affiliated with:: Berklee Online (available courses)
aedelstein@berklee.edu | 617-747-2396

"If a course is working, my students are going to learn more about how their brains work, their instincts, their strengths, what's compelling to them, and what they gravitate towards. Students are required to articulate their goals and plans, then critique their own and each other's work. It sounds easy enough, but is often quite a challenge. Trying to describe what we're doing and why, and attempting to understand other students' motivations, often reveals biases and discontinuities in our own perspectives and assumptions. 'Why?' is often the hardest question."

Pages