Jazz Composition Faculty

Scott Free

Professor, Jazz Composition
sfree@berklee.edu | 617-747-8179

"I want my students to know that, by sharing the things that really matter to them musically, it really gives their teachers happiness."

Jeff Friedman

Professor, Jazz Composition
jfriedman@berklee.edu | 617 747-8182

"The pace at Berklee is super-charged compared to other colleges. Our undergrad program would be a masters program anywhere else, especially the last couple years. So there's a tremendous amount of pressure; you just have to go all the way. But I tell my students, 'We're the luckiest people in the world. We get to make music for a living.' In my case I use the analogy of my Duke Ellington class. It's kind of a scandal. I get paid for two hours to talk about Duke Ellington? I would do that anyway!"

Eric Gould

Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
egould@berklee.edu | 617-747-2384

"Since I approach my own life with a sense of adventure, I also tell my students to take a step back from their music, take a look at the adventure they want to undertake, and appreciate the fact that we’re fortunate to be able to spend time developing a relationship with an instrument."

Greg Hopkins

Professor, Jazz Composition
ghopkins@berklee.edu | 617-747-8233

"I love the concept of fusion. We attract students from all over the world, who bring with them their own ideas, their own innate ethnic rhythms, harmonies, melodies, and sometimes instruments. And they combine this with the American ideal of jazz."

Ayn Inserto

Associate Professor, Jazz Composition
ainserto@berklee.edu | 617-747-8355

"The idea of learning music is to take something that's been established for hundreds and hundreds of years and figure out how you can incorporate that but make it your own."

Bob Pilkington

Professor, Jazz Composition

"I show my students why fundamentals are important and how working on fundamentals is eventually going to get them to a place where they can make whatever music they want to in the professional world."

Jackson Schultz

Professor, Jazz Composition
jschultz@berklee.edu | 617-747-8344

"Teaching is like performing for me. I bring a lot of energy into the classroom and like to share that energy with my students."