Harmony Faculty

Kris Adams

Professor, Harmony
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses), Ensemble, Voice
kadams@berklee.edu | 617-747-8447

Vocalist Kris Adams is the author of Sing Your Way Through Theory: A Music Theory Workbook For The Contemporary Singer. She has shared the stage with many accomplished musicians, including Joe Lovano, Billy Drummond, Harvie S, and Michelle Hendricks.

David Alexis

Assistant Professor, Harmony
Also affiliated with: Voice
dalexis1@berklee.edu | 617-747-6151

"I believe that being immersed in current trends of music makes music practical for students. I keep it current, keep it fresh."

Kevin Bleau

Associate Professor, Harmony
kbleau@berklee.edu | 617-747-8603

"Arrangers tell performers how to play by the marks they write on the page, so I tell my students to embrace that power. Be clear. Be specific. And insist that performers follow your instructions."

Eric Byers

Assistant Professor, Harmony
ebyers@berklee.edu | 617-747-2834

"I'm a strong believer in process; you learn by doing. I don't really think you can learn much about any art form without actually getting your hands dirty."

Charles Cassara

Professor, Harmony
ccassara@berklee.edu | 617-747-8137

"Technology may be able to make the material more visual and more interesting, or you can gather information quicker but the basic bottom line is, even without technology, you still have to be able to tell me something about music that I can come away with."

Jeff Claassen

Assistant Professor, Harmony
jclaassen@berklee.edu | 617-747-8076

"My experiences gigging are such a wide range, and I like sharing that with students. Even if it’s talking about playing a gig over the weekend where the music was so horribly notated that I couldn’t read it. I explain, ‘Learn to notate this stuff; otherwise, you’re going to get a horrible performance.’"

Suzanne M. Clark

Associate Professor, Harmony
sclark@berklee.edu | 617-747-8687

"I want my students to develop their own ear and make connections between what they hear outside of class and what goes on inside class."

Jeff D'Antona

Assistant Professor, Harmony
jdantona@berklee.edu | 617-747-6516

"I want students to be better prepared for a career as a musician than when they came into the class. I want them to gain a solid foundation in theoretical concepts that will serve them in their careers, wherever their path takes them."

Winnie Dahlgren

Associate Professor, Harmony
wdahlgren@berklee.edu | 617-747-2829

"It's about learning the rules, and once you do, you understand how you can then go out and break the rules."

Danny Harrington

Professor, Harmony

"Initially everybody's afraid of making mistakes. Everybody wants to sound perfect, but improvisation is an imperfect art."

David Harris

Assistant Professor, Harmony
dbharris@berklee.edu | 617-747-6027

"You need to work very hard to be a successful musician your whole life, but if you really love it, it's hard work that you don't mind doing."

Mitch Haupers

Professor, Harmony
mhaupers@berklee.edu | 617-747-8212

"I really believe that people are self-motivated already; you've just got to free that up."

Thomas Hojnacki

Assistant Chair, Harmony
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
thojnacki@berklee.edu | 617-747-8438

"My whole career as a professional musician has been about playing diverse styles of music."

Lucy Holstedt

Professor, Harmony
lholstedt@berklee.edu | 617-747-8231

"I like to be spontaneous and creative in class. For instance, I ask my students to bring in recordings they like, and I'll develop a lesson from their music right on the spot."

David Johnson

Professor, Harmony
djohnson@berklee.edu | 617-747-8238

Darrell Katz

Professor, Harmony
dkatz@berklee.edu | 617-747-8242

"I certainly want my students to be accurate and precise. I routinely tell them, 'If you want someone to play what you put on the page, you have to put what you meant. It's got to be right.'"

Steven Kirby

Associate Professor, Harmony
skirby@berklee.edu | 617-747-8604

"I do what I can to help the students connect to the information so that they start using it as soon as possible. "

Rick Kress

Associate Professor, Harmony
rkress@berklee.edu | 617-747-8413

"You could have all the technique in the world, but whatever you're going to do, figure out what it is and what kind of impression you want to make."

Alizon Lissance

Associate Professor, Harmony
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
alissance@berklee.edu | 617-747-8496

"I want my students to leave my classes with a heightened awareness of the inner workings of music, an embracing of the left-brain stuff, a desire to explore harmony and color." 

Craig Macrae

Associate Professor, Harmony
cmacrae@berklee.edu | 617-747-8459

"One thing that comes up a lot in my teaching is that the process of learning to make music is counterintuitive. Careful practice organizes your nervous system in a way that allows you to communicate with your instrument, so the more discipline you use in preparation, the more expressive you will sound."

Rick McLaughlin

Assistant Professor, Harmony

"When somebody takes a solo, we have a kind of conversation, mutually exploring new musical places."

Vanessa Morris

Assistant Professor, Harmony
vmorris@berklee.edu | 617-747-6717

"I believe that artists' life ambition is to find their own voice, without thinking of any labels."

Joseph Mulholland

Professor, Harmony
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)

"It's one thing to be an expert in your chosen style; it's something very different to be able to grow over a lifetime as a musician and renew yourself."

Randy Pingrey

Assistant Professor, Harmony
rpingrey@berklee.edu | 617-747-6437

"Harmony isn’t a type of musical Sudoku puzzle; it’s a living, breathing thing that you can build a career and a life around."

Steve Rochinski

Professor, Harmony
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
srochinski@berklee.edu | 617-747-8335

"Sound comes first, and notation is secondary."