Woodwinds Faculty

Jackie Beard

Professor, Woodwinds
jbeard@berklee.edu | 617 747-2678

"The improvisational approaches that I relay to my students are theoretically explainable, of course, but it's the practical and artistic applications that I really want to get across to them."

George Garzone

Professor, Woodwinds
Also affiliated with: Berklee Global Jazz Institute
ggarzone@berklee.edu | 617 747-8188

"I think the tradition is responsible for how you play, no matter how far out you go. But at the same time, my job is to get the kids to stretch out. I want to take them away from the tradition."

Dino Govoni

Assistant Professor, Woodwinds
dgovoni@berklee.edu | 617 747-8315

"My teaching style adapts to each individual student. I try to find their strengths and weaknesses and work accordingly. I encourage them to dig deep inside and find their personal voice."

Jeff Harrington

Professor, Woodwinds

"In addition to practicing, hands-on experience (on-the-job-training) is the only way to develop as a musician and to ultimately arrive at the consistency we all strive for."

Barbara LaFitte

Professor, Woodwinds
blafitte@berklee.edu | 617 747-8489

"The art of being a good musician includes a positive attitude, as well as the ability to achieve consistent skills on your instrument." 

Shannon LeClaire

Associate Professor, Woodwinds
sleclaire@berklee.edu | 617 747-8490

"Berklee's phenomenal for a few reasons. One, at no other school are you going to get this choice of teachers. Two, students are always jamming, in ensembles and after-school sessions, because there are so many students here. And three, the theory and ear training here is really applicable, whereas at a normal college, the program is classical theory. While it's great background, it doesn't really apply. Here you learn it on your horn and you can use it immediately, and that's a good thing."

Lance Van Lenten

Associate Professor, Woodwinds
lvanlenten@berklee.edu | 617 747-6007

"For me it’s all about helping my students develop as performers regardless of the style. I try to focus on the specific needs of my students and use a systematic approach supported by organization, technology tools and lots of listening."

Fred Lipsius

Associate Professor, Woodwinds
flipsius@berklee.edu | 617 747-8259

"When you worry or think too much about the outcome, it blocks the creative flow within."

Jim Odgren

Professor, Woodwinds
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses)
jodgren@berklee.edu | 617 747-2563
  • Alumnus, Berklee College of Music
  • Alto saxophonist
  • Member of East West Standard Time
  • Performances with Gary Burton, Steve Swallow, and JoAnne Brackeen
  • Recordings with Gary Burton, Hiromi Uehara, Vinnie Colaiuta, Antonio Sanchez, Victor Mendoza, Michael Brecker, and Jim Kelly
  • Major publications include Saxophone Quintet Arrangements for Advance Music and Berklee Practice Method - Alto Sax

Mia Olson

Professor, Woodwinds
molson@berklee.edu | 617 747-8458

"I try to be very open and all-inclusive and I also try to approach a particular topic in a bunch of different ways: visually, aurally, and kinesthetically."

Margaret Phillips

Associate Professor, Woodwinds
mphillips@berklee.edu | 617 747-8528

"I love teaching students at Berklee because it's unlike any other place that I teach."

Bill Pierce

Chair, Woodwinds
bpierce@berklee.edu | 617 747-2437

"Music is a source of communication between people, regardless of whether you want to be a star or not."

Wendy Rolfe

Professor, Woodwinds
wrolfe@berklee.edu | 617 747-8337

"The most important thing for me is that my students keep their love of music, and that they’ll have the tools to impart that to other people."

Harry Skoler

Professor, Woodwinds
hskoler@berklee.edu | 617 747-8334

"As long as you're enjoying the moment—that's it, stop there. Have a generalized plan, but you can reevaluate at any point. Take the pressure off. Enjoy what you're doing."

Bill Thompson

Assistant Professor, Woodwinds
wthompson@berklee.edu | 617 747-8381

"Discipline and consistency are things I strive to help the students develop, because the material gets more complex as it goes along."

Frank Tiberi

Professor, Woodwinds
ftiberi@berklee.edu | 617 747-2266

"What's appealing is to get students who have never played jazz and after even just one semester some of them are really accomplishing and improvising."