Ensemble Faculty

Kris Adams

Professor, Harmony
Also affiliated with: Berklee Online (available courses), Ensemble, Voice
kadams@berklee.edu | 617-747-8447

Vocalist Kris Adams is the author of Sing Your Way Through Theory: A Music Theory Workbook For The Contemporary Singer. She has shared the stage with many accomplished musicians, including Joe Lovano, Billy Drummond, Harvie S, and Michelle Hendricks.

Utar Artun

Instructor, Ensemble

"I would like students to discover their gem. I teach them how to find it, but sometimes they may need to practice more because music is a lifelong journey."

Darren Barrett

Associate Professor, Ensemble
dbarrett@berklee.edu | 617-747-6075

""This position has helped me to realize my ideas pertaining to live performance—using computers, multi-processor effects, and groove-oriented music with improvisational content."

Kevin Barry

Assistant Professor, Ensemble
kbarry@berklee.edu | 617-747-8471

"I try to teach students how to be musical players. In the real world, technique, how fast they can play, how impressive their chops don't matter as much. The people who hire you for gigs want you to be musical."

Lin Biviano

Associate Professor, Ensemble
lbiviano@berklee.edu | 617-747-8270

"I want students to leave class understanding exactly everything they played and feeling good about that."

Fernando Brandao

Associate Professor, Ensemble
fbrandao@berklee.edu | 617-747-8379

"To make a beautiful sound, it doesn't need to be one kind of sound, but it does need to be expressive."

Consuelo Candelaria-Barry

Associate Professor, Ensemble

"Music lifts me up. It is emotionally based. It helps people be healthy in their emotional well-being. As a player, it's how I express everything that I'm feeling."

Jerry Cecco

Assistant Professor, Ensemble
jcecco@berklee.edu | 617-747-8138

"I constantly tell students to improve their reading skills because that’s a big thing in the music business."

Dennis Cecere

Professor, Ensemble
dcecere@berklee.edu | 617-747-8139

"I've studied a lot of books and taken seminars on positive thinking, and that has had a huge influence on how I teach. In piano classes, I teach how to use visualization during practice."

Rebecca Cline

Associate Professor, Ensemble
rcline@berklee.edu | 617-747-2993

"It's so extraordinarily gratifying to find students who are willing to put in the time and energy to meet me where I'm coming from and ask for more."

Mark Copeland

Assistant Professor, Ensemble
mcopeland@berklee.edu | 617-747-6265

"If the music doesn’t feel good to the person playing, it’s not going to sound good to the person listening."

Brian "Raydar" Ellis

Assistant Professor, Songwriting
Also affiliated with: Ensemble
bellis1@berklee.edu | 617-747-2845

"Initially in class, musicians will be trying to show off everything they know, but hip-hop is more a process of finding that groove and locking it in, playing your role. It's really more a test of restraint."

Paul Elmen

Assistant Professor, Ensemble
pelmen@berklee.edu | 617 747-8166

"Some students have never played in a band before, and that can be difficult. That's why I always use a recording of the songs that we're playing, to give them an idea of what it is to play together if they haven't done that in the past. You listen to how it all works together. We listen to the drums, we listen to the bass, we listen to the accompanying instruments. That helps them get towards that goal of playing together. And sometimes it'll take a few weeks before it starts sounding musical. I always tell them, our goal is for a concert at the end of the semester. We're working towards that—it's a little carrot out there for them, so that they have something to really think about achieving."

Alvin Foster

Instructor, Ensemble
afoster1@berklee.edu | 617-747-6828

"I want my students to develop a curiosity for the library of music that came before them and the stories that developed those compositions, songs, arrangements, and performances."

Tia Fuller

Professor, Ensemble
tfuller1@berklee.edu | 617-747-6092

Robert Gallegos

Assistant Professor, Ensemble
rgallegos@berklee.edu | 617-747-6150

Phil Grenadier

Assistant Professor, Ensemble
pgrenadier@berklee.edu | 617-747-6725

"Students' growth is vital in tandem with their joy in the pursuit of expanded music making."

Chantel Hampton

Instructor, Ensemble
lhampton@berklee.edu | 617-747-3036

"Hard work, patience, faith, persistence, and pass-it-on are a few of the many character traits instilled into me as a young musician and that I try to practice to this day."

Herman Hampton

Associate Professor, Ensemble
hhampton@berklee.edu | 617-747-8237

"I've learned so much since I finished school and college. Though they both supplied the tools of learning, the real teacher was life itself. That shapes how I teach my ensembles at Berklee."

Alonzo Harris

Assistant Professor, Ensemble
aharris2@berklee.edu | 617-747-6026

"The real measure of my success comes at the point when I feel like my students are actually doing something that I'm teaching."

David Hollender

Professor, Ensemble
dhollender@berklee.edu | 617-747-8230

"At the end of the day, the goal is that the students will eventually become their own teachers."

Neal Itzler

Assistant Professor, Ensemble
nitzler@berklee.edu | 617-747-8575

"It's important to have compassion towards each other when you are playing music, just as it is in life. When people play together with compassion and respect, that winds up being reflected in the music at any level."

Mark Kohler

Assistant Professor, Ensemble
mkohler@berklee.edu | 617-747-3038

"I believe that everyone has a calling, a special talent, their own individual contribution to make that no one else can duplicate. It's that voice inside that keeps pushing us to learn, grow, and discover."

Bob Lada

Associate Professor, Ensemble
blada@berklee.edu | 617-747-3131

"Berklee students have a very demanding schedule. Those demands can lead to physical injuries. I'm looking to give them a toolkit that they can pull out while they're performing, while they're practicing, while they're warming up."

Winston Maccow

Associate Professor, Ensemble
wmaccow@berklee.edu | 617-747-8120

"If you are a great musician, you should be able to play anything. Here at Berklee you can play anything at all."

Pages