Berklee Contemporary Symphony Orchestra: Soundwaves

This event has passed.
Please see the full events listing for upcoming events.
Friday / March 7, 2014 / 7:30 p.m.
Sanders Theatre
45 Quincy Street
United States
SOUNDWAVES: From the Sea to the Stars
Design by Daniel Martin

Presented by Berklee's Professional Performance Division, the Berklee Contemporary Symphony Orchestra's spring concert—Soundwaves: From the Sea to the Stars—will feature Wave, composed by Berklee professor of composition Vuk Kulenovic; award-winning works by Jennifer Higdon and DJ/composer Mason Bates; and the music Russian heavyweight Pytor Ilyich Tchaikovsky. 

Francisco Noya, assistant professor of composition, and resident conductor of the Rhode Island Philharmonic, leads Berklee's 80-piece symphonic ensemble on an aural ascension from Earth to the cosmos. The audience will be exposed to an entirely new orchestral experience that explores alternative instrumentation, contemporary works, and surprise soloists.

The Berklee Contemporary Symphony Orchestra is a full symphony ensemble committed to the art of orchestra playing that honors the past, present, and future. In addition to the great compositions of the past, this orchestra's repertoire includes original compositions of Berklee faculty, students, contemporary music from around the globe, and from burgeoning genres such as film and video game scores. Previous performances include a sold-out show at Symphony Hall—Distant Worlds: Music from Final Fantasy; a collaboration with Grammy-winners Danilo Perez (piano) and John Patitucci (bass) in Jordan Hall; and a commissioned concerto for electric violinist Tracy Silverman.

Concertgoers may begin purchasing tickets at noon on February 20, 2014 at the Holyoke Center Arcade, 536 Massachusetts Ave. in Cambridge; and the Sanders Theater at Memorial Hall. Call 617 496-222 for tickets, directions, and a listing of upcoming events.

Free (ticketed)