Norm Zocher’s Electric Strings Quintet

This event has passed.
Please see the full events listing for upcoming events.
Thursday / September 19, 2019 / 7:00 p.m.
Oliver Colvin Recital Hall
1140 Boylston Street
United States
Norm Zocher
Image courtesy of the artist

Guitarist and composer Norm Zocher and his genre-bending Electric Strings Quintet deliver a performance that draws from classical and rock traditions. The band features Zocher (guitars), fellow Berklee College of Music faculty members Mimi Rabson (violin), Rebecca Shrimpton (voice), Bruno Räberg (bass), and Mike Connors (drums).

The Electric Strings Quintet will perform Zocher’s “Rock Ethic,” which was commissioned by Rabson with a Berklee grant. “Rock Ethic” was featured in Strings magazine, premiered in New York City, released on Affetto Records, and performed around the globe by former Metropolitan Opera Orchestra concertmaster Elmira Darvarova. The concert also will include Zocher’s work, “Slow and Heavy,” which has been performed by Berklee World Strings.