Berklee String Orchestra with Dave Samuels

Monday / December 17, 2007 / 7:15 p.m.
Berklee Performance Center
136 Massachusetts Avenue
United States

The Berklee String Orchestra, under the direction of faculty cellist Eugene Friesen, presents an evening of traditional and contemporary music for strings featuring vibraphone soloist/Berklee faculty member Dave Samuels plus soloists from the ensemble.

The program will begin with "Circus," composed by Berklee composition student Javier Abad. Matthew Nicholl, chair of the Berklee Professional Writing Department, contributes a new arrangement of "Sacred Dance Suite" by Georges I. Gurdjieff and Thomas de Hartman, which will feature Bronwyn Bird on nyckelharpa.

Dave Samuels will be the soloist for the premiere of "Black Mountain Education," a concerto for strings, harp, and celeste by New England Conservatory composer Nicholas Urie. Samuels will also play on Gershwin’s "I Got Rhythm."

Also on the program will be "Skylife" by Turtle Island String Quartet founder David Balakrishnan and "O Mensch Bewein Dein Sunde Gross," a choral prelude by J. S. Bach.