Write of Spring: Jazz Composition Faculty Department Concert

This event has passed.
Please see the full events listing for upcoming events.
Wednesday / February 24, 2010 / 7:15 p.m.
Berklee Performance Center
136 Massachusetts Avenue
United States

From small group to large ensemble, recent works by faculty teaching in the Jazz Composition Department will be featured in this annual spring-semester concert.

As in past years, this concert features original works of Jazz Composition Department faculty Scott Free, Jeff Friedman, Richard Lowell, Jackson Schultz, and Bill Scism. This year's concert will also feature invited faculty composers Winnie Dahlgren and Darrell Katz from the Harmony Department. Most of the performers in this concert have played in this series since its inception. Many are faculty but we are pleased to have some of Berklee's outstanding students players added to fill the few holes in the band. In the trumpet section we have Casey Brefka, Jeff Perry, Chris Rymes, and Linsey MacDonald. The sax section is composed of Daniel Ian Smith and Joshua Soran on alto, Dino Govoni and Chris Weller on tenor, with Ben Whiting playing baritone. Playing trombone are Bob Pilkington, Jason Camelio, Bulut Gulen, and Molly Furlong. In the rhythm section we have Scott Free on guitar, Winnie Dahlgren on vibes, and Mark Poniatowski on bass, with Bob Tamagni playing drums. Special guests include vocalist Rebecca Shrimpton, Hiroaki Honshuku playing flute and EWI, and Greg Fritz and William Wells on tuba. This is one of Berklee's premier concerts, a not-to-be-missed event.